Making the Music Video: No Comfort in the Void (Part 01) - Logistics

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

I had to take a week off from vlogging, but I'm back! And with a vengeance!! Join me as I make my next music video, for Everson Poe's "No Comfort In the Void"!

Video Transcript:
Hello! I am the artist known as DEROSNEC, and welcome to my weekly vlog where I talk about making music, art, movies, and more.

I just recently put out an another album with my longtime collaborator Maxwell called “The Body is Not Sacred” - and, pardon me while I toot my own horn for a second, but I am really proud of my performance on this album. In particular on the song “No Comfort In The Void”, which I think is my new favourite song which I’ve ever done with him.

Anyway, I want to make a music video for this song, and thought I’d take you along with me as I make it. First and foremost, I gotta get all my ideas together, break them down, and make sure that I have all my ducks in a row so I can shoot it.

What Budget?

Neither of us have a budget for this video, so I had to come up with a storyline which I can film easily and cheaply. The song is about struggling with gender, so I knew that there was a lot that I could do with makeup, as well as drawing. Also, I can take advantage of the title of the song and basically put myself in a “void”, meaning that I could film everything very simply here in my garage studio.

“No Comfort” Story Outline

After a bit of brainstorming, I got an outline done, so I’ve started breaking down what things I need to get. Without giving too much of the story away, here’s my big long prop list:

  • Blue Paint
  • Pink Paint
  • Black Paint
  • Masking Tape
  • Makeup remover wipes

...that’s it!

Creative Planning

Because makeup is a big part of this video, it made sense to plan out the direction I wanted to go in. So I took a photo of myself and roughed out some guidelines for how I’d like my makeup to be for each part.

“No Comfort” Makeup Plans

I’m obviously not going for extreme detail and beauty here - I can do that when I actually do the makeup. But this way I have my general concept down and can hit the ground running come shoot day.

Schedule and Logistics

Despite the easy prop list and setup, it’s actually a complicated video. Basically I will need to do four costume and makeup changes. I will also have a major haircut (GASP!), and be continuously covered in paint. So, despite only having 16 shots to actually shoot, it’s going to be messy, which means I’ll have to take a lot of showers and clean up everything in between shots.

“No Comfort” Video Shot List

Because of the amount of cleanup and resets I’ll have to do, I’m considering splitting the shoot up into two days. The pros of doing that is that I can take my time. The cons are, that I have set up and break down stuff twice, which means that conditions might change to the point where it will be difficult to make sure things match up from day to day.

This also means that it’s potentially harder to get people to come help me out. I can’t do this one all by myself. Thankfully I’m very lucky that I have some really amazing and generous friends.

If you’re into metal and haven’t checked out “The Body Is Not Sacred” yet, then head on over to eversonpoe.bandcamp.com or your favourite streaming service and give it a listen! I’d love to hear what you think.

Thanks for watching - hit that thumbs up button below and join the uncensored by subscribing to my Youtube channel, my newsletter, or by following me on facebook, twitter, and instagram! If you never want to miss a video, be sure to click the little notification bell icon, too.

DEROSNEC

WebsiteYoutubeFacebookTwitterInstagramSpotifySoundcloudBandcampMusicoinSociety6Threadless

Art, Music, Movies, Media
Join the Uncensored

NOTE: These Thursday Vlog transcripts can also be found published on my website: http://derosnec.com

My video is at DLive

And also on Youtube:

Sort:  

I tried for about half an hour to download the video but it just wont load - I really wanted to watch it lol!!! I did get to watch your head roll at the begginning about 30 times - it was quite entertaining lol :)

oh no!! That's too bad, usually dLive has been good - well here's a Youtube version for you, hopefully that actually loads for you:

I'll be sure to actually add the Youtube version in the post moving forward!

Awww thanks - that's awesome - I may still watch your head roll on repeat for a bit though :D

hahaha well I'm glad there was still some entertainment value!! XD

hehehe I hope you do that on the next video as well :P

I have so much admiration for you... You are a good musician with a lovely voice and excellent songwriting skills. Your collaboration with Maxwell on this project is impressive. When you post a vlog, you include the transcript, which is awesome for anyone unable to watch the video. You post to Dlive and YouTube, both services which stream reasonably well. You are so artisitic with makeup. You are organized and a careful planner, as demonstrated in this video. You are wonderful at illustrations, as I have seen in the Planktown posts. You're so multi-talented, with a charming appearance and a delightful, down-to-earth personality! You totally rock, lady! 💖

you are so sweet!! Thank you so much @thekittygirl <3 Knowing that people like you are enjoying everything I'm creating is the best motivator that I could get to keep going, so thank you so much for watching and reading!!

Either you or someone who valued your post shared this post on Pimp Your Post Thursday in the Steemit Ramble discord. Looking forward to you visiting us again.

Thank you!! :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by derosnec from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

loading of the video reminds me of good old days of dial up internet :) i am not registered on dlive, is it always this way?
On the video, everything i photograph and film is with no budget and sometimes i think it makes you more creative :)

Lately I've actually had good success with DLive, but I haven't posted something this long before, so maybe it has more trouble with longer form videos. That totally sucks :( I guess I'll keep sticking with youtube for now.

But yes! I totally agree - limitation aids creativity because it forces you to think outside the box. Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting!

had similar problems with dtube but there you can reduce quality to 480p and then it work. did not find that option here

Yeah dLive is a little different in how it streams than dTube. But I could never actually even get an upload onto dTube, so I was excited that dLive was working for me up until now. Definitely sad to hear that people were having trouble with watching it :(

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 16 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 29 SBD worth and should receive 92 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hooray!! :D

Hello, as a member of @steemdunk you have received a free courtesy boost! Steemdunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #133 (5/13/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

I really enjoyed this vlog. I find it fascinating what goes into making videos. I've never done one myself and don't even know where to start. Thanks for sharing your methods.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97