The Art of Turntablism: Kuttin n’ Scratching Live Freestyle w/ DJ Lethal Skillz | Art Of The DJ Series

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

The Art of The DJ: Kuttin n’ Scratching Freestyle w/ DJ Lethal Skillz


Peace Dlive!

In this live session I was putting the Pioneer CDJ's decks through the test with this freestyle scratch session.

What I'm doing here is called 'Digital Turntablism' which is basically what most Hip Hop DJ's do on the Vinyl Turntables but this is the Digital version of it on the Pioneer CD decks.

I still prefer the classic vinyl turntable especially the Technics SL-1200's for their feel, control, sensitivity and sound.

I tried to focus here on speed and accuracy then flipping through various Scratch Combos and Techniques all improvised on the set, this whole routine is improvised live.

What are your thoughts on the art of Turntablism?
Let me know in the comment box below, Kudos!


follow skillz.gif

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

That's lethal fuckin skillzz

thats mah scuzzin! Kudos

Man, Lethal as ever. Thanks for sharing a window into the world of Turntablism :)

Kudos @sndbox ur support to my art and works has been beyond overwhelming thank u for all !

Good skills Bro.
Still, cd scratchin' sucks & i'm happy you mentioned the orginal vinyl feel from the technics 1200/1210.
I only used the Technics CD-Turntable for stage + artists when it got real "bumpy" or "jumpy", because it actually still turns & comes closest to the "vinyl feel".
My philosophy: If it stops turning, it's dead.
Still, Respect.

Salute! Def nothing beats the feel of the real vinyl 300% but for the scratching sake not all young dj's can afford to invest in turntables some have cd players and some have midi controllers I do these to show young djs that turntablism can be done over any medium but for sure each has it pros and cons. With that said Vinyl and Turntables all day everyday ;) Kudos

Fair enough ;)
I remember when i started a looooong time ago :) with no turntables, i always went to the youth center to practice on theirs.. haha...
And from the first money that was put away for me , i bought my technics 1210, and i still got'em & still use them! ;)
Respect & Greetings, brother

hahaha those were the days bro! I can relate when I started Dj'ing I used to DJ on tapes lol it took me few years to get my first 1 turntable :P

DO u still rock the turntables?

Yes mi bredda, the golden 90ies :)))
Yes, i still rock them, mostly when i do my Mixtapes + tryin to jump on the international booking level with the help of my productions that should come out 2018..
Listen to the the last mix "Signed vs. Unsigned" ; intro on dsound,too... full mix autoplays when u hit my website www.Luca1777.com
I had the idea of doing an online dlive turntable battle with you for fun & cryptos ;)
But first i need a new crossfader & make sure dlive,dtube is working proper..
Have a successful day!
Soon come
1

Great stuff bro great to meet another turntablist and dj on our community, theres so much space for things to be done for dj culture if u setup a live broadcast show on Dlive and build a good follower u can earn more then traveling for international gigs even though we all love traveling... haha keep on! Salute

Yes brother... keep on! I got a new scratch video out, where i scratch some with the right turntable, some support would be cool though + i would really appreciate an answer (when u find some time) on my Dsound problems (my latest blog) from you, because you are the most advanced "Music" Guy i know...
Thanx bro!

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.78$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13