I can't stop crying... Ulog Day 11

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

"I can't stop crying"


If you think about that statement for a minute, it's interesting to notice that there is no emotion associated with it, and yet - you probably associated it with sadness and heartbreak.

After experiencing something really funny, where I've laughed until tears have streamed down my cheeks - I might say "I can't stop crying... with laughter."


During an illness, the tears would be through pain and I might say, "I can't stop crying... because the pain is intense."


What about other emotions associated with tears?

  • Fear?
  • Anger?
  • Anxiety?

Can't tears be associated with all of these emotions? To me, it seems that the tear is the physical expression and release of some emotion that threatens to overwhelm us. The mind and body triggers an unusual reaction. Saline water leaks from your eyes. When you stop and think about it - isn't that the strangest thing in the world? There is nothing magical about salt and water - but that is the mixture that comes from your tear ducts, and provides a catharsis.

What about the opposite?


Have you ever been in a situation where you haven't been able to cry? Isn't it strange that when that release is held back, all of our emotions and even physical reactions get bottled up and pressurized. We need that expression, we need that reset. It's good to release.


Holding back laughter, sadness, fear, frustration, anger or worse - ignoring them, can eventually lead to feeling locked away in a prison. Teardrops are precious. They're universal - across age, gender, nationality, economics, etc. To me, they signify growth and change through life. They happen to people all over the world, for any number of reasons. Even though our situations are all different and we're isolated from one another, we share something in common: teardrops.


Differences don't have to divide us. They don't necessarily have to isolate us, and make us feel alone - when we truly aren't. From laughter, sadness, fear, pain, anger, anxiety...

Teardrops connect us.


Image source: Teardrop - on fire, made by @dreemsteem

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Tears is the reaction of emotion and feelings of a particular situation you are in. Sometimes you don't see tears in people's eyes although they are very sad. They feel the pain, but cannot express that in tears.

Teardrops are precious. They're universal - across age, gender, nationality, economics, etc.

I agree with that. Thank you @dreemsteem for sharing this!

Hello foxy lady, hehe. It really is a good look that suits your beautiful, soothing voice very well.

It's so true that I would always associate the sentence "I can't stop crying" with a sad experience, when in fact I have cried way more tears watching romcoms and happy endings in general. Something else that makes me cry is when disadvantaged people either overcome adversity or are suffering from it. Things like that.

And then when I'm actually sad, I rarely cry, at least not in front of other people (that probably has to do with my upbringing). I feel it inside but especially when I have to be strong for someone else, there are no tears. Until the barrel is full and overflows, occasionally.

It's like my happy tear barrel is a tiny bucket that overflows very easily, and the sad tear barrel is rather big.

Love you, Dreemie, I hope you don't have to cry too many sad tears.

WARNING! The comment below by @erudire leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

I haven't cried from sadness in over 15 years. Thank you Jeebus!
I did cry 3 nights ago while watching some sappy internet video.
Those are ones that get me.
The military dad returning home and surprising the kids at school. It hits ya in the feels. It's is always the happy stuff that makes me cry. Like what @ydraz said.

"teardrops Connect us..."

I seem to cry for every litle thing sad movies happy movies even anger

I am glad you mentioned that holding back anger is bad, I feel much better now. Not cathartic as one might from having a good cry , maybe because you stubbed your toe but actually that was just the last straw on the camels back that has been carrying so much yet just kept ignoring it because what does not kill you makes you stronger right? Why cry if you are going to be better for it in the end?

Ah but although some of us, not me, cry inside and will not allow the tears to show be it from happy or sad , all hail anger because that seems to be the one acceptable way to release.

Maybe if the wind blows just right your eyes will "water" but remember that it is from the wind.

Beautiful post, Foxy Dreem...
There's almost some kind of chemical reaction in your body, isn't there, when you shed tears. I don't know about you, but I feel completely different afterwards- almost at a cellular level. I wonder if scientists have done any research into the evolutionary need to cry- and have salt water pouring down your face when extremes of emotion hit.

Sending big love- and may there be many more happy tears than any other kind. Exx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29