Off Grid Lifestyle - Emotive Drone Footage Of Earthship Karuna

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

I self built Earthship Karuna between 2009-2012. Although it was a great challenge, I am now self sufficient and have real security for the years to come. I have no bills for power, water, and heating or cooling and am living on an ultra minimal carbon footprint.

Discover how beautiful an off-grid sustainable home can look like, and why you should start considering becoming self sufficient yourself. This movie consists of some beautiful drone footage of Earthship Karuna and the surrounding mountain and forests, with an impactful message to get you thinking about living self sufficiently.

If you would like to read the story of I how built Earthship Karuna you can read it all on Steemit at:
https://steemit.com/earthship/@eco-alex/a-compilation-of-all-my-eco-building-and-workshop-posts-on-steemit

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Your home is really beautiful i love earth ships. I can't build one for myself at least not at this current point in time but i am working to make my little traditional 130 year old house self sustainable as possible. It will take a while in my circumstances but i agree things need to change ... As the environment seems to be important to you , you are vegan yes ?

thank you! glad u love earthships! best of luck retrofitting! you can do the most important things such as rainwater harvesting and solar power.. that helps a lot...

i am mostly vegan.. but partial to a pizza once a week.. ;-) and i eat organic meat if im craving it which is not often...

I live off of 700$ a month and take care of 15 sanctuary animals so solar power is not in the cards for now later maybe . i am working on the rain water thing also kicking out the water closet soon and going to a composting toilet ...

That is so very emotive and moving and a very beautiful home. I am going to have to visit the Brighton earthship and get inspired too. Perhaps my direction is slowly coming to pointing in the one direction, rather than a completely erratic compass <3

Thank you!! glad you watched it.. that music is special also, from a friend.. i cried a cpl times listening to it.. brighton earthship is cool.. doesnt look the best, but it stands as a great model. If you ever want to visit a new very nice one in sheppey there is a great couple who just built a proper earthship home.... Very inspiring..

such an inspiring video. I just loved it! Your home looks so natural and inviting. You've got it nestled perfectly into the landscape like a magical mushroom that just grew there of its own accord :)

thank you @walkerland.. it is an amazing spot really.. i was very lucky to have found it. .

Such an impressive work Alex; it looks almost out of worldly. I absolutely love it; congratulations. Must be an amazing exprrience living there 😊

thank you so much.. it was a life's dream and long journey! definitely enjoying the fruits of my labour now!

You are most welcome Alex :)

It sure is time for change! That change will be critical for the survival of our specie, and I think today is a good time to start changing towards a more sustaible future. No matter how little each idividual changes, I believe any amount will help.

I know someone out there will call me out, my last post is about using a generator on the homestead... it's ok, I will take no offense because I truely know what I'm doing is building. And I will leave behind a beautiful, sustainable, natural home for my children.

Thank you @eco-alex for showing us your beautiful home.... I would love to see more of the interior, it's a piece of art my friend, really nice work!

if you have any connection issues you can also view this here

Inspiring. You're fortunate to have such lush land with so many trees.

it is true.. it is very lush here.. if anything too much rain .. which is of course why its so green!

I had never heard about it. Glad came to know about something new environment friendly program. Your home is beautiful! I made my kids watch this video as they are also quite concerned with growing environment problem caused by human intervention. I must say it is an inspiration for future generation.

Such a feeling of strong serenity. I love that you have managed to make your home beautiful and not only sustainable. This is in my future in the mountains of Eastern Burma, after Ploi has flown the coop. And have been re-establishing my biz for remote management in the future. The siting of the house is superb. The music expressed a lilting sense of flow and reflected your home so very well.

thank u dear!!! i can feel you appreciation through the screen! I cant imagine what life is like in Burma, i dont know anyone who even wen there. I expect its very beautiful! xx

I have been often - started in 2002 when the country was basically closed to westeners and Aung Sang Syu Kii was still my hero. sigh It is wild, stunningly beautiful and has called me for eons. I hope to take my daughter in the coming 12 months for her first foray there.

What a lovely home and to know it is sustainable and fulfilling the need for shelter without holding you down with those reoccurring bills. Well done! Where is your home? Beautiful countryside.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02