Goldilock - Keeping your online data safe

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

This is my video entry for the @originalworks' Sponsored Writing Contest with Goldilock.

For more information on Goldilock, please visit their website, download the whitepaper for a more academic explanation of the technology, or join their discord to ask any direct questions you may have about the project!

Let me know what you think in the comments! Have you ever been concerned about your personal data online or how major companies are protecting it?

Steem on, toward Love and Light!

My video is at DLive

goldilock2018

Sort:  

Just one silly question...who watches the watcher? A system is only as good as the people who develop it. Just like a computer is only as good as the programmer. Sorry, I just had to play the devil's advocate. I trust no-one with vital information. It is like a lawyer telling you never to sign anything you don't read and understand.

Oh don't be sorry, this is a fantastic question! One I happen to agree with hearing you say it. This technology (physical air gapped storage) sounds great, so now we are right back to human error!

A few thoughts, first, this may be an upgrade to information already 'on' the grid. This project is in talks with banks already according to their site, and, lets say they become the de facto way to store personal data by companies, this is information that is already out their somewhere. Governments, insurance companies, retailer, they have a lot of data on us and its an upgrade to do it this way no matter what you think about the propensity of people.

You would have to try pretty hard to keep your info out of the hands of all of these places, and knowing you Ceci maybe you do! But somebody has some info on you somewhere, and they should protect it from hackers. Experian credit service got hacked, untold millions of people they have reported on over the years!

I may never send them all the 'keys' to my kingdom, but there is still a lot of work for them to do ;p

howdy tonight @ecoinstant! this sounds very promising and should be an interesting one to follow.

Hey Jonboy! As you said, the bird woke us!

Do you get into crypto currencies and 'alt coins'?

dang bird! have you put out those distraction items yet to try and discourage it?
my wife and I are very interested but haven't invested much of anything but we like Steem and Stellar. just don't have hardly any extra at the moment to risk.

Yup, understood. All my sources and my common sense say to put in only what you can afford to forget about. A couple of bucks is all it takes, don't gamble your retirement fund or anything crazy.

I have also heard that NEM is very good, bought a few tokens at 25 cents. I have invested in a few others in the order of 10 to 20 dollars per project.

Well, that bird, we haven't had a chance to hang anything, in fact he is helping me stay focused on commenting ;p but soon we should go to a store and look for a reflective pinwheel!

haha! how in the world is that dang bird helping you stay focused on commenting?

Well I think that because he is making sure that I don't sleep to much and miss valuable commenting time! I also have done several other things this week, and am still doing a bit of yard work each day, and doing some other planning, but so much stuff I have also put off until next week as well. Like sleep...

;p

haha! sleep is overrated isn't it? I'm surprised that bird is not injured by now, how long has it been doing that? seems like it would break it's neck by now. must have flexible necks!

Must have, according to my mom it was doing the same thing since when she was down here in May!

This post has been submitted for the @OriginalWorks Sponsored Writing Contest!
You can also follow @contestbot to be notified of future contests!

Thank you contestbot, let me tell you how happy I am to see you here and knowing that I am entered.

@ecoinstant, you are interested in reading, maybe you read me too

That is interesting comment, because when I click your name it says:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62187.20
ETH 3051.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79