Dlive Soul - Sittin' On The Dock Of The Bay (Cover by Ed Privat)

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

DLIVE SOUL

Hello everyone, this is my series Dlive Soul where we discover a Soul Classic each day of the week !
Today this is "Sittin On the Dock Of The Bay" by Otis Reddin'
It was recorded by Redding twice in 1967, including once just days before his death in a plane crash. The song was released on Stax Records' Volt label in 1968, becoming the first posthumous single to top the charts in the US.It reached number 3 on the UK Singles Chart.

For me this song, is one of the first Soul song I have ever sung, and helped me to learn how to speak english :)

Sittin' On The Dock Of The Bay

Sittin' in the mornin' sun
I'll be sittin' when the evenin' come
Watching the ships roll in
And then I watch 'em roll away again, yeah
I'm sittin' on the dock of the bay
Watching the tide roll away
Ooo, I'm just sittin' on the dock of the bay
Wastin' time
I left my home in Georgia
Headed for the 'Frisco bay
'Cause I've had nothing to live for
And look like nothin's gonna come my way
So I'm just gonna sit on the dock of the bay
Watching the tide roll away
Ooo, I'm sittin' on the dock of the bay
Wastin' time
Look like nothing's gonna change
Everything still remains the same
I can't do what ten people tell me to do
So I guess I'll remain the same, yes
Sittin' here resting my bones
And this loneliness won't leave me alone
It's two thousand miles I roamed
Just to make this dock my home
Now, I'm just gonna sit at the dock of the bay
Watching the tide roll away
Oooo-wee, sittin' on the dock of the bay
Wastin' time

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

@edprivat, this is my all time favorite Otis Redding song!! I feel like I say that for most of the songs you do haha

Such a tragic life cut way too short...he was such a talent. You my friend have done it justice! I wondered what you'd do with the 'whistling' part, and I loved your take on that too....so clever ;)

Tragic life yes like most amazing musicians and singers!
Did you know that the whistling part, was actually an improvisation by Otis because he forgot the lyrics?
And it became the trademark of the song hahaha that's crazy right?

You my friend, have good taste this song is in my top 5! It sounded more like otis when i used to smoke cigarettes, though I am happy i stopped :)

A perfect screw up! And here I’ve always assumed the whistle was the start of the whole thing.

Got sump’m for you Monday homie. 👍🏿

Hey dandays! I'm with you...all of our screw-ups should be so cool! And thank you so much for the "F cancer" love sent to my wallet <3

Whaaaatt?? Nah, that must’ve been someone who spells their name like me.
🙌🏽

I had no idea about that @edprivat!! Makes him more cool in my eyes :) Thanks for that!

And yes, your raspy ciggy voice would do it justice, but you'll live a lot longer for ME to enjoy your music now haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24