Fingerstyle Guitar - Spacewalk. Count to 6 Instead of 4 :D

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Cambodia- Inside View.jpg

After discovering a Canadian fingerstyle guitar player named Ewan Dobson back in 2014, I couldn't resist in taking the plunge in learning the technique.
Combining intricate bass rhythms and playing sweet melodies over the top was a new sound to my earholes.

I grew up playing hard rock and metal and always relied on a pick to get my sounds, but Ewan's music was so darn satisfying I threw my pick down and down tuned my guitar to C minor.

It took a few years of practicing digestible chunks and to piece it together (by ear)
But to re-create his sound and technique is beyond my capabilities.
I am still learning and daym,, what a joy it is to play.
Count to 6 now and keep in time!
Cheers.

Previous Dlive post below. Come for a cruise :D
https://steemit.com/dlive/@jeffandhisguitar/d0a757c0-5468-11e8-8cf9-1b93be2e52ab

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Awesome bro:) Dobson is the man! But dude, that spacewalk tune is amazing, seriously it’s sweet! Love it, that’s some technical shit you’ve nailed right there. Open tunings are a brain buster and then your right hand is going like a perfectly syncopated music box! It’s amazing man, love it! Your acoustic is real nice too, and what better than playing outside in the sun!

Also, great to see you bringing back your electric, loved the vai cover you posted earlier, that was top notch! Ive got some shite going on atm and haven’t been motivated to play, I’ve been forcing practise a bit too much but I know once it comes back it will return with a fury! 😀 peace!

Aww mate you are my biggest fan :)
Can I send you a Jeff duffle bag and some jeff badges with spinny eyes :D
Mannn that's a product!!! lol

Thanks Sunset. You are learning that when you come to Cambodia!
Free lessons on the house bro :P

The real tune is 7 minutes long and wow! He is not human.
The guitar was given to me by a good friend called Pete who is a splendid player himself.
I have told him about Steemit and am waiting for a reply from him.

It is a 1991 faith Venus and is sick.
I haven't felt a guitar quite like it. But It is getting old and the saddle is not right.
Huge intonation problems atm and have not been playing it :(

Ah you recognised the Vai riff. What a riff. Will always remember that as I listened to the track with headphones for the first time.. wow

Mental song and a mental album!
An all-time favourite of mine.

Cheers for the kind words of support and encoutagement dude. It means a lot.
Peeeeace.
Go gets them sunsets!
sj.png

Hahaha 🤘 yea man send it over throw in some Jeff stickers too! Dude Jeff badges with spinny eyes is a legit product! When you release them I’ll be sporting them for sure!

Yea man it will be awesome, I’m really looking forward to Cambodia, I’m starting to plan it all now:) ah sweet dude amazing!😀🤘

Yea man he can’t be human - it makes sense as his playing is other worldly

Ah man I hate intonation problems, I have a les Paul at home and I let it sit for a while when I was away travelling and it keeps going out now... I think she feels neglected and is punishing me...

Ah yea dude I love that tune a whispering prayer by vai, he’s a master!

No worries Man:) keep it up, I love your playing and it’s always great to see guitarists doing it and going for it! I hope to one day do the same!

Thank you my friend.
Look forward to meeting you some day.
We can talk about all our problems then.
Cheers.

You too brother!

Respect 👊

This is utterly amazing. You are such a gifted guitar player and composer, can deffo see you are in the zone. SWEET!

Big hugs D.
Thank you my man. I used to hide my emotions a lot and that video was filmed shortly after I revealed my talents last year.
I would love to play it again with the 2018 Jeff.
Watch this space... lol
Cheers buddy :D

Ahh but D, I did not compose this piece! Ewan Dobson did.


But I learnt my bit by ear :)
Yeeew.
Say noooo to books lol

When I listen some guitarist playing, I wondering how many of them playing this tune?!?!?!?! This is one of them ..... good you put dlive, so I can (hardly) believe my eyes :) Truly amazing fingerstyle with all the twangs and soul! .... man that twang around 1:18, that I cannot capture the second, because eyes involuntary go to the string and how it is done. Is it best guitar lesson or what? Exactly as you said at the end (Y)

Not many people know about Ewan Dobson.
He is such an inspiration to me.
Cheers Sam. Glad I made ya smile and think my friend :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84