Unschooling In Japan - Yes, it's possible. Here's how we're doing it + LIVE Q & A

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

One of the funny things about this world is that, in a sense, things are never quite what they seem. Many folks have asked me over the past two years or so why I am in Japan, when Japan seems to them to be one of the least libertarian/freedom-minded countries in the world.

The funny thing is, that while the ideas of individual self-ownership and liberty are prevalent on an individual-to-individual level in places like the US, the state often interferes to such a degree as to incapacitate much of the progress that could be made.

Here in Japan, while the explicit ideas regarding things like liberty, unschooling, etc, may not be so openly discussed, in a very real sense, the state will stay out of your way as long as you play your cards right and demonstrate that you are a non-violent, valuable contributor to your community.

In this live broadcast I will explain how my wife and I are going to be approaching unschooling as my child approaches "school age," how fellow expats can do the same, and also my evolving thoughts on radical transparency and its power.

Cheers! See you in the LIVE CHAT!

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as DLive and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

My live stream is at DLive

Sort:  

It was great to listen to you once the video actually worked! It is like you have to unlearn all the brainwashing to really learn, right? It's interesting how Dan Larimar had that view point on been overly transparent, which I agree with you makes no sense to me too. It would have been nice for him to return your message. I suppose he sort of contradicts himself in a way because he doesn't intervene in any politics on steemit.

I am glad everything is working out with the 'unschooling', right near home, done in such a way that allows proper development and Japan is supportive on the direction you find suitable unlike the USA which is the complete opposite. It is great you are active in helping even take over once the current person retires soon.

thanks for posting!

Jesus. I am so grateful for an actual comment here! Haha. I thought it was just going to be a giant spam infestation. :)

Thank you very much.

It is like you have to unlearn all the brainwashing to really learn, right?

Definitely. And it's a never-ending process, really. We're all on that journey, I suppose. Regarding Dan, yeah, I'd like to know more about his thought process as he wrote that article and maybe hear a clarification of a few points. Maybe someday I'll be able to interview him or something.

Thanks for watching, and for the encouraging words!

~Graham

I know how you feel, most people spam in real life as well, not having their own individual thoughts rather they choose to regurgitate the media narrative or influence opinion, shifting them further away from reality. Some people have that entitlement complex where they should get while giving nothing of value back! I am glad I've given some value back to your efforts, which you put into your blogs on a daily basis!

Nicely done, great work and nice Post, thanks for sharing.

nice video ,i like it .

What did you like about it?

Another Great one!!
best one <3

You didn't even watch it all before writing this, did ya?

Yes, I agree with you most of the point. Japan is not only one of the richest countries in the world. Their people have riches in mind. Japanese education system is world famous. Here we find real freedom. Especially to born in Japan, you are a proud person. thanks for sharing your great idea.

Not born in Japan. The compulsory education system sucks. Next time watch the video.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87