The Hornet Adventure Continues! Trapped 4! Now to identify them.

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

Join me as I attempt to identify which variety of Asian hornets I have trapped in my "Sangria of Death" traps outside the house.

Having a lot of fun learning about these fascinating creatures. I hope you'll join me today as I continue to look more closely at the various types (there are around 8, if I am not mistaken) of Japanese hornets! While I am still on the fence about classifying the most recent hornet we've caught, one thing I do know is this:

THESE QUEENS WON'T BE BUILDING NESTS AROUND MY HOUSE!

UPDATE! SUCCESSFULLY IDENTIFIED. The largest one on the trap is actually a European Hornet. They've originated from both Japan and Europe. The black spot on top of the head, and the bands on the abdomen tell the story. This is why the faceplate recognition was so difficult!!!

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as DLive and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

I love the Adventure @kafkanarchy84
lovely video
resteemid

Another Great one!!

Dude you killed em. Is this okay to kill them ?

I’m not sure what you mean here...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76