Visiting Robbie’s Marina of Islamorada

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

One of my favorite experiences in Florida was visiting Robbie’s Marina of Islamorada. This place is known for their famous tarpon fishes that frequent their docks. People from all over the world come to Robbie's to feed these magnificent creatures.

IMG_0532.JPG

In 1976, Robbie and his wife Mona started feeding ,Scarface, a tarpoon at their docks. Robbie noticed the struggling tarpon was injured. Hoping to heal the tarpon, Robbie placed Scarface in a oxygen-rich shrimp tank. After a couple of stitches in the mouth and some recovery time, Scarface survived and was released back into the ocean. To this day, Scarface and his tarpon friends frequently visit Robbie's for a good meal. Tourist are allowed to feed these fish for $3!

While @polebird and I did not feed the fish, we enjoyed watching other people feeding fish. While the fish were a site to see, I personally thought the pelicans were the coolest.

IMG_0582.JPG

We even got lucky and saw a manatee visit Robbie's!

Screen Shot 2018-06-08 at 7.34.52 AM.png

I hope you enjoy my @dlive video! If you visit Florida, add this to your list of places to visit!


IMG_0566.JPG

love,
Karen

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Greetings, dear young lady Karen

What a good experience scooter. I, after the year 2020, intend to have an increase in income in order to enjoy these experiences. I want to know a lot of things about nature. That's one of them you posted. Besides, I want to know a place where you can put your hand on dolphins.

I don't know if the place you've been is open or it's a water park, but, one way or another, it's beautiful. I want to meet. I've been in one with fish and turtles, as well as sharks, but, they stayed in a closed place and could only see them through the aquarium.

Your sister looks like a biologist in the photo. When you go, you can call me, ' cause I want to get my hands on those seagulls too.

Thank you and good afternoon!!!!!

The place looks beautiful, and attractive.
It would be a lot of fun feeding those aquatic animals,which includes fishes and duck. Thanks for sharing @karensuestudios

heheh yes! I love animals. This place is amazing!

That's cool

How cool =) especially that you could pet the pelicans LOL. Nice video!!!

Haha! Just that one, he was a cutie and very friendly!

Man that guys got a huge beak!!!

Heheh that’s the coolest part about these birds! They are so big! 😂

Aww gorgeous video. How cute are those pelicans such amazing animals. The views are breathe taking, that water is clear as anything.Such a treat for you to share the vid with us. Defo a place to visit when I go to Florida.👍♥️

yes! Key west is known for it's clear water! :)

That's sooo cute!!!! I can't believe a FISH of all things remembers his friend who helped heal him. That's nuts! And awesome

I know right? Amazing story and great place! ❤️❤️❤️ How have you been?

Are the pelicans tame? Clipped?

No they are wild! Just that one bird was really friendly!

The tarpon is a very beautiful fish! mainly for its silvery and very showy coloration, you knew that they can reach remarkable dimensions in which the average oscillates 1.5 m, but specimens have been registered that have exceeded two meters in length and weight of up to 161 kg! can you believe it?
image.png

It is a fish with great vivacity, active and strong, fast swimming, lives in ranges of depth of up to 15-40 m!
image.png

The fish increasingly amaze us with their sizes and colors, do not you think? it gives us an idea of everything that hides in the great immensity of the ocean!

WOW! That is a huge fish! Thanks for the share!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98