Let's make some compost for a change ;).

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

And it's time for an update on the garbage pile. I mean the compost platform, lol!


IMG_20180606_183756.jpg


Isn't she a beauty? Of course she is, don't even dare to say different, or I will flag you(with my totally insignificant power)!

Erm, I was telling you about this little project of mine in ... this post. Anyway, I tried a few ways to compile the video, and being a continuous process, I had the time to do that.

Finally, I opted for Google Photo app, (I do recommend it, it's easy to work with) I am lucky to own a Google Pixel Phone, which gives me unlimited storage in the cloud, yaay!

  • Go in the photo app.
  • Select the photos and the videos you would like to use.
  • press the + button and select movie
  • Have fun!
    Btw, I am posting everything from my phone.

Uhmm, about the compost platform. Nothing fancy, just a bunch of green and brown stuff, I am looking forward to a thermophile composting process. With a bit of luck and a lot of water and work, we will have some great humus next spring.

Last week I was really close on quiting and leave the country again for another year. Not going to happen, I am dead glued here :D.

What I am trying to say. Is time to keep the promises to myself, I am not running anymore. No matter how difficult is going to be. Life is giving us trials, but once you made up your mind, everything goes in the right way.

And it did, after three months without rain, we finally got it. A beautiful rain who washed all doubts. Gotta keep your faith, is the only way!

On the other hand, I am going to get back in the workforce for a while, not sure how that will affect my presence on Steemit. A man has to pay for his mistakes (shitty investments). Hopefully I still remember how to handle this.


IMG_20180530_155527.jpg


Lol, who in the world is interested in what I am writing here though?

I mean, let's face it. I am just nobody from the internet talking about his, less than average life.

Oh, I know! Are you still reading?


1. For a successful composting process, you need:

  • Fresh grass trimmings
  • dried grass or leafs. Hay or straw also works.
  • horse/cow/chicken manure.
  • air
  • moisture

I used tree branches to keep the platform aerated, as you can see in the video. And I layered the manure on the top, in this way, whenever I water the platform, all the juice goes through everything else is in there. The manure contains a lot of the needed bacterias.

That's it, I am not a pro, this is my first composting adventure!


This is all for now, gotta get back to work! In the meantime, if you are passionate about Homesteading, Off-grid, Prepping, or anything related to. You may want to start following :

@offgrid-online, or join off-grid Discord server https://discord.gg/5Thf9ax

@preppersonline, or join preppers Discord server https://discord.gg/255Td3q

@ecotrain, or join ecotrain Discord server https://discord.gg/sxpEPJc

Also, check out http://www.homesteaders-online.com/ , or join HomesteadersOnline Discord server https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS

@gogreenbuddy is having a daily contest, check out his page :).

Esti roman si cumva inca nu ai aflat de comunitatea romaneasca pe steemit? @steemromania este contul comunitatii, de altfel poti sa te alaturi discutiei pe serverul Discord al comunitatii https://discord.gg/nexBgBG.

text4489.png

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Great stuff! Entertaining even though I do absolutely no composting whatsoever. I found you through the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @futurefarmers. Congratulations.

Thank you for your comment :). Actually, is first time when I am making compost. For a homestead is quite convenient to turn all that trash in something more than useful.

My mom and I read your post and actually Dlive played better than Dtube. So maybe my mom will use Dlive for our videos too.

We use weed-eater to cut grass here. But that thingy you were using on the video is really big. Mom said it's a scythe and that's a new word for me. I saw your son in the wheelbarrow! We like riding on ours too. My baby brother and sister like to ride so I have to push.

I am glad you found something useful in my post :). About the scythe, I like to do things in the old school way. It keeps me in shape ;).

Yeah, my son just love to do that, when I don't have the time to push the wheelbarrow for him, he is doing that by himself :)).

We had a wheel barrow but now we use a cart so I can pull and push and not have to carry much. It's easier for my mom too and we get to play and ride on it.

We don't have scythe but that's some scary looking thing. And you had to sharpen it too before you used it :) Maybe that's better than machete.

As you may know @futurefarmers featured you in this week's Pay It Forward Curation Contest.

The video was cute but informative. And there are plenty of people that are interested in what you have to say. That is the reason initiative such as this are around, to share what you have to say with others and hopefully get you some much needed exposure.

Well, I am grateful for that. I was thinking to take on that contest myself and do the same thing for others, hopefully I will find the time to do that. I am not much of a curator. Also, I am glad to know that people actually enjoy what they find on my blog. Thank you for your comment, it means a lot :)!

Curating is actually not too hard. You just tell the person what you think. Be honest. The more you do it the easier it becomes.

You're very welcome though.

@futurefarmers featured you in the Pay it forward curation contest for week 10 . That is what brought me to your post

Thank you for checking on my post. I hope you enjoyed :)!

@laurentiu.negrea Better then that I learned something

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28