ULog 3 - Why I Like a Wild Garden

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

Yesterday, I shared a short clip from my garden with you as my ULog 2. I got two responses commenting on it looking wild. 😀
And I didn't even show you true wilderness yet. That made me realize that so many are thinking of a garden as something with neat rows and often plants sitting on bare soil.
Well, I want to show you an alternative to that kind of a garden and tell you along the way why I prefer a different approach. Mind you, I grew up in a garden with neat rows - but it was so big that there was also a bit of wilderness. Just not enough women/men power to keep it all neat.
And that, as it turns out, is a good thing.
Keep looking for more Ulogs in the next days talking about why it is good to have a wild garden.

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

One of the problems with rows and bare earth are the bees. We chop brambles back all the time (they would take over) but when they have space to grow, they are covered in bees, hover flies and ladybirds. I'm planning on changing my garden in the future so some wilderness can thrive.

Yes!!! We provide so much habitat for insects and such if we allow a bit of wilderness!! So good to hear from you!!! I have missed you in the freewrite community. Hope all is well!

Thank you, that is very kind. I have been busy gardening, running and knitting so, yes, all is well 😊

As long as there aren't too many invasive weeds keeping the desired plants from growing, we tend to prefer somewhat of a "random" pattern, ourselves. My parents kept a very "tidy" garden with rows and signs and things... but it seems like it is a lot more work, without necessarily yielding any better results.

Agreed. I do try to get rid of Bermuda grass which takes over here and do chop and drop things on a fairly regular basis. Right now, I have a bit more wilderness going on than usual, but it all works 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63722.47
ETH 3049.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.03