ULog 17 Garden and Chickens

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

For this Ulog 17, I am taking you with me to hang out with my chickens. I have been planting tree collards and some other greens in a cage for them. That way, they can snack on the fresh greens without destroying the plant.
I am working on the compost in the chicken area - a place for them to find lots of yummy bugs. Don't look when we come to the compost part if you don't like to see dead things. I had caught three rats in a sunflower bucked trap and am adding them to the compost.
While I was working, half of the chickens got out of the enclosure because I hadn't closed the door very well. I do let them roam on a regular basis, but only with supervision. Today, they destroyed some smaller squash plants. That is how they are 😉
They snacked on my grapes while I snacked on some berries.
Here is the YouTube Version just in case.

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

I ALWAYS LOVE your garden and chicken videos, @MarianneWest! I didn't know you had cacti and were those a couple banana trees towards the end? Oh, and those berrrrriesssss look soooo delicious!

So the rats... do you cover them with a little soil so they decompose quicker for the chickens to be able to pick at the wormies, Marianne?

Thanks for your #walkwithme garden/homesteading video!!! You are a natural #Ulogger. ;)

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Thank you so much!!
I do cover the rats :) dig them a bit into the compost pile and they become soil very fast... The chickens like to eat the rolli pollies and all the other critters that happen to thrive in a compost. Good scratching exercise for them LOL

There are times that I would wake up to my mom screeching because her plants have been pecked and destroyed by the chickens haha! Somebody must have forgotten to lock the coop of the chicken or the kids may have let them out or something.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

I feel your mom's pain!!! LOL.

3 dead rats and a 🌻 bucked trap ...hmmm...would make for a lovely writing prompt lol

hahaha - yes LOL
That might get some stories going :)

TIER UPVOTES ARE IN EFFECT!!!
NEW TIER UPVOTES user guide



Current price is 0.12 or 0.121 SBD for 200%, 250%, or 300% upvote based on tier level.

200% ($0.24) - Bronze Level - No requirements
250% ($0.30) - Silver Level - SteemAuto Upvote of 100% or $0.02 (whichever is possible)
300% ($0.36) - Gold Level - SteemAuto Upvote of 100% or $0.02 AND 50SP delegation

All delegators make a "striking" return on your investment!
50 SP --- 100 SP --- 200 SP --- 500 SP --- 1000 SP

That being said...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with an upvote and comment from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86