Harvest Cedar Mantels

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

A number of cedar beams that were cut months ago are now dried from our solar kiln and ready to be made into products. One of the products we have wanted to manufacture here on the homestead has been cedar mantels for fireplaces. Our goal is to make a number of these and take orders for custom sizes on a future website that is being built right now.

Adding a bit of rustic feel to a home is achieved by installing a red cedar mantel. These cedar beams are harvested and milled on our homestead M-14 Foley Belsaw sawmill. Then they are dried inside our homestead solar kiln and then planed, routed, sanded and then coated with a commercial grade epoxy that self levels at 1/8 of an inch.

So that is what we did today! Enjoy the photos!

My video is at DLive

ced1.jpg

ced3.jpg

ced4.jpg

ced2.jpg

ced5.jpg

A RANDOM PICTURE OF OUR SHEEP TODAY :)
sheep.jpg

Sort:  

An absolutely beautiful piece of wood. If I had a fireplace that would be what I would want as my mantel!

You need to get a fireplace ;)

I live in a tropical country! It's too hot!

What can't Tim do with wood? Looks great guys...now I need to build a house just so I can have one of those! :-D

We will be happy to sell you one! :)

Only if I can pick it up in person!

Looks great. I love the look of real cut wood especially drift wood with the real tree edges. Great work I hope you sell lots of them.

I want to do more with drift wood or live edges. That seems to be very popular.

Sharing to get the word out for you!
That is some beautiful wood!

I love the smell and look of fresh cedar wood.

Tim sells the planer shavings on ebay. Believe it or not, people buy it. They smell great!

Ooo that is some beautiful looking wood! As my husband always says, “We’ll get that when we build our next home.” Lol

They really make a log cabin look great!

Those mantles are really looking good! You cannot beat the smell and look of fresh cedar.

Thanks! Yeah, cedar smells wonderful. This is the aromatic eastern red cedar.

Gorgeous!

Excellent post! I like your content :D

Çok güzel bir meslek. Daha başarılı olmanızı diliyorum..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43