Gaming Garbage: Mortal Kombat X day one DLC - DLive Exclusive

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

Remember the days when you bought a video game and you got a video game? There's a troubling trend in modern games to sell you an $80 product and then expect you to spend more money to unlock characters and moves the day it arrives. In this new video essay I explore how Mortal Kombat X became one of the worst offenders when it released several years ago and brand new owners of a AAA title were required to shill out extra money to have a full character roster or even easier fatalities.

I can't thank the Steem and DLive community enough for their awesome support! I've worked on gaming content my entire life but finally feel like I've found a home here with such an awesome community.

The theme song for the show is Thrillseeker by Prototype Raptor. I'm trying to convince him to come on Steem but in the meantime please support his music: https://soundcloud.com/prototyperaptor

And any donations you want to make to my project to help it going are super appreciated. I only manually curate stuff I like on Steem so delegations are put to good use :)

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Congratulations @negativespace: this post has been upvoted by @minnowhelpme!!
This is a free upvote bot, part of the project called @steemrepo , made for you by the witness @yanosh01.
Thanks for being here!!

Great business model....what do you call it? Ah gouging 😸

Can't think of a better word for it. I want to support hard work but not be on a payment plan for the rest of my life to perform a few combos

Love your posts my friend! Keep up the great work!

Thanks so much mainos!

MORTAL COMBAT POWER

Can't deny its a great business model. People loath it, but still pay for it. There are always people who are so much of a fan and have plenty of money that does doesn't think its a problem.

I'm not against DLC. Game makers can design whatever they want. But you shouldn't be charging people on day one to unlock a full roster of characters that were advertised. Let alone to let people buy one button fatalities.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63549.78
ETH 3107.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88