First Day of Snorkeling in PCB 2018

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

I finally was able to edit the first video of our vacation snorkeling in Panama City Beach. Some of the sequences are a bit choppy but overall I hope you enjoy it. If the video is too long for some of you, here is a post I wrote up with some stills taken from the video and a more in depth description of the park and area.

This is a beautiful little lagoon to scuba, snorkel, or swim in and has something for all age levels and experience. The "lagoon" is a man made creation from placing large rocks off of the shore line to create a jetty. This protects the beach from erosion from tides and incoming commercial and pleasure craft.

This particular area is located within St. Andrews State Park and is one of my favorite places in all of Florida to snorkel and relax with the family. My daughter, @sushiqueen, along with my wife(haven't talked her onto steemit yet..lol) have been visiting here for many years and it always feels like a homecoming when we pass through the park entrance. They also have excellent camping facilities and several boat ramps as well as nature preserves.

I hope you all enjoy our time in the water and thanks for all of your support! Music courtesy of FreeMusic Archive.

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

MAN CAVE_FINAL.jpg


All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Another beautiful post @papacrusher!

Thank you so much for the compliment.

It's always a pleasure @papacrusher

Great footage @papacrusher

That's an impressive amount of aquatic life just off of shore. Do you know any of the species? I was scrabbling around trying to figure some out.

The little yellow and blue fella was a type of Damselfish I think.

Thanks! I'm fairly clueless with most of the fish types. I know the torpedo shaped schooling fish are mullet and the other schooling fish with the yellow-green stripes are referred to as "grubs" by the locals and they are used as bait fish.

In the next video, the clarity is a bit deteriorated compared to this one but there is a shit of a Sheep's Head, vermillion snapper, small spiny lobster, and some sea urchins.

I definitely want to purchase a guide to the different species instead of relying on the dive instructors. Even waterproof cards would do it.

I'll look forward to the next one.

Great video! That go pro looks like it was a good investment, as an extreme lover of the ocean this was Very enjoyable!

I'm very happy with how it turned out and the vacation was awesome.

I love to go snorkeling! I just do not have many chances for it anymore. Maybe one day, I will get back to PCB and do some more. Last time, which was quite a few years ago, we rented a pontoon boat for the day and had a ball.

Several years ago we did the dolphin swiming tour abd it was amazing.

It is impressive how many places you can reach and all the things you can do when renting a pontoon boat down there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71