Breaking chords apart - opening up the fretboard.

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

Hello Steemit!

I get asked many times how I break down my chordal approach in the instrument and how I break away from conventional chord shapes. Some months ago I did some lessons covering this aspect under the name of ''The Chord Library''.

I have a very ''piano-like'' chord approach on the guitar , trying to visualize how each individual note relates
to the chord that is being played at the moment and by using ''Drop voicings'' as a starting point for shapes then move the voices around , like a combined set of melodies. This approach is mainly inspired by guitar player Eric Johnson.

Once you have the main shapes under your fingers , you can start improvising melodies and connecting the notes in a single-line manner . This is why I say my improvisation is chord and harmony based rather than scale based .. 90% of the time I'm thinking chords and movements and how to connect them. A pentatonic ''scale'' in my mind is just a 4-note chord with 1 tension added , this way I can ''bring together'' chord and melody playing under the same roof and make my thought process a little easier when improvising.

This is just a quick improvisation connecting Cmaj7 and Ebmaj7.

These are the lessons:

https://steemit.com/music/@pechichemena/guitar-tutorial-the-improv-toolbox-lesson-4-chord-library-the-maj7-drop2-chord-family

https://steemit.com/music/@pechichemena/guitar-tutorial-the-improv-toolbox-lesson-4-chord-library-part2-the-drop-3-family-from-maj7-to-dominant7

https://steemit.com/music/@pechichemena/guitar-tutorial-the-improv-toolbox-extra-lesson-piano-style-voicings-for-guitar

Thanks for reading and listening!

Pechiche Mena

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

trying to play piano over it with you... I can't break the chords apart, I'm just breaking the chords... haha fun

''I break chords'' - @hedac ... LOL ... thanks for stopping by ...we need Reaper tutorials here

It's because of the sevenths!

Great playing, @pechichemena! I love this jazzy feel you got going on here, I'm on my way to click through your lessons. Cheers!

Thank you very much bro! I hope those lessons help you somehow :P ! thanks for stopping by!

I think I see what you mean by going by a piano like approach.

You play smoothly and effortlessly too. <3

hehehe.. I always tell my students ''we need to know where the white keys are on the guitar'' .. it mostly confuses them.. but once you get the concept.. it's very liberating!

Thank you for stopping by Foxy <3

My dad has always told me that to learn an instrument, you must first learn the piano. It is the gateway to most instruments :)

its a very good start yes ;) ! I play piano just because of that .. gives me a wider scope of the guitar !

Then I grab my guitar and.. and... Snif lol

You are doing good ;)

What a rock and roll sound. you play guitar is awesome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15