All That Glitters- Original Poetry from The Captain's Chair- The U.S.S. MinnowPROSE!

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)




I got a handshake that just can't lose.
Up running that ladder clean to the top.
Paste a crooked smile on, scrub that mop just right.
Things always look different in the tv light.

Lined up a bunch of words, well written, thoughtful.
I'll ad lib it.
After all, I got that handshake that just won't drop.
I can play a bit dirty..

Build a wall across the bay.
Need to keep them sharks out and away.
Circling around my bloody waters.
There can only be one prime predator.

The sky is the limit now, I found a way into your heart.
Doors keyed with love forced ajar.
All I needed was a target.
Fear, Uncertainty, Distrust.

If it wasn't for the whales we wouldn't have fish.
And if it wasn't for fishes them sharks couldn't eat.
Certainly, it's the planktons fault.
But let us brainstorm a result.

If we block out the sun, no one will photosynthesize.
So this horrid light I'll excise.
Now I'll spew a dark blanket of lovely lies.
To darken those overbright skys.
Global warming? what's this?
Something I have missed?
Perhaps a spin can be placed.
This smokey fog will then raise!
Cause my handshake got that praise.

In the end I cannot lie.
This dark and stormy sky.
Was just so I could sell more lights.
Into your fearful eternal nights.

I blocked the sun and burnt the crop.
All so I could reach the top.
But once I was there, it would not last.
Everyone beneath me, had to pass.

Never could a new challenger come.
To break what had been so artfully done.
A kingdom raised from nothing, now filling the sky.
Unfortunate they had to die.

My gift ended up being a curse.
Everything I touched turned the worst.
These gilded fingers I wish for none.
My name is king Solomon.
Fin.





An edit note: This post was originally a live stream attempt but it didn't quite work so this poem has been put in its place! Sorry, we tried!





We hope you like what we brought to the Blockchain today! Please leave your comments and feedback in the comments, we love to hear it!

Stay tuned to our page for Microscopic Mondays, drone shenanigans, poetry, 360 VR footage, 3D prints, and the occasional chuckle!

Much love, @sammosk and @stitchybitch! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84