Steem Basic Income - Steem Creators Presentation

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

Steem Basic Income

Steem Basic Income is a social experiment to bring a basic income to as many Steemians as possible. Members join by sponsoring others into the program. Steem Basic Income is delivered through providing regular upvotes to member content.

Steem Creators Conference

I had the opportunity to present Steem Basic Income at the Steem Creators Conference in Las Vegas a few weeks ago. It was an amazing experience, and I really enjoyed it. This is a great video introduction to Steem Basic Income. In addition, I share the future roadmap (SteemBasicIncome 2.0) that we will be developing after we finish automating our current system.
As the program grows, we will start to fill a separate pool with Steem Power that will be dedicated to rewarding program members based on their level of community engagement, and not just on their level of subscription. We're very excited about the potential opportunities around community-building.
I've posted this video previously on @josephsavage, and resteemed when others have posted the official video taken by the #steemcreators film crew, but I decided that it was important to have an official post with the video as well.

Enrollment

If you want to get involved, or to increase the share of basic income that you receive, enrollment is pretty straightforward:

Just send 1 STEEM to @steembasicincome. Include the name of a Steemian to sponsor in the transaction memo (preceded by @). You and the person you sponsor will each receive 1 share in the program. You can sponsor any active Steemian, it does not have to be a current member.

If you're unclear, please check out our full transaction memo guidelines and then let us know if you have any questions.
https://steemit.com/basicincome/@steembasicincome/steem-basic-income-new-transaction-memo-guidelines

The official currency for enrollment is STEEM. We accept SBD at our discretion (usually when they're very close, or when SBD is stronger) but you do not receive extra value or any partial refund for paying in SBD instead of STEEM. If we choose to accept an SBD enrollment, we accept the entire amount. If we choose to reject it, we refund the entire amount and request you to send STEEM instead.

EarthNation

Steem Basic Income is designed by @josephsavage, and developed in collaboration with @earthnation. We are grateful for their early support, both in brainstorming ideas for improvement and in providing funding for our massively complex automation requirements. Learn more about Earth Nation on their web page at https://earthnation.world/

Questions?

Please read our recently published FAQ. Most questions are addressed in our FAQ or in the additional resources that it suggests. If you still have questions, ask in the comments section or join us in our discord channel.

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

can I join, but I do not have STEEM, I only have a few SBD, I want to sponsor my close friend @steemitcountry, how can I get started immediately

Change you SBD for steem using the marketplace function on steemit. Then send a whole steem or more to @steembasicincome with the name of the person you are sponsoring in the memo. Eg @personsname

1 sbd is oke too is it not? On this moment than I mean? I did steem basic income for , all dutch, wanderingkells vee2180 and futuremind, so there should be 4 times me, but there is not something where you can check or anything. The only thing you see is when they vote I see sbi2 ?

Please 1 STEEM, not 1 SBD.

@sbi2 is pool 2 (members you sponsor could be in different pools than you).

FAQ includes information for how to access our sheet where you can check your share status.
https://steemit.com/steembasicincome/@steembasicincome/steem-basic-income-frequently-asked-questions

:-o, I read as long as 1 sbd was about thesame or higher you could send that? So my 1 sbd is not ok?? I did send 1 for futuremind? I am going to check my status now thank you for your reaction, Love what you try to do!

We accept 1 SBD when it's value is the same or higher. but right now it would take 1.2 SBD to buy 1 STEEM, so we are not accepting it.

(SBD value < STEEM value = SBD not accepted)

omg than I have done it wrong! I send 1 sbd is that just gone then? Can I still pay 0.200 or more to make sure? Or is that money gone and do i need to see it as a donation?

If it was recent, it may still be queued for processing. If it was older and you were not refunded, then we may have chosen to accept it at that time.

If it wasn't enough they will refund it.
Take a look at this spread sheet to see where you are.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/e/2PACX-1vRhhnY8couo1lPKsOBLvwS1hfvVAlB6SrhAHWiM3qXOVep_AUenh97SyPAsMCBWH26HgCOrclNl31BZ/pubhtml#

Now you have some steem

thank you for the appreciation

I would jump in the air with such a reward! :-o If life was only that easy :-)

i'm one of the many who benefited from this initiative. kudos!

Hi

Actually i form part of it. I won a membership in thr Pay It Forward - Curation Contest Week 3

It look like really great. but, i don't understand it at all.

I wish growing side by side with my friends (shares) .in steembasicincome

This project is a huge window for all newbie users like me, to start with a little support in steemit. Thank for that.

sounds more than excellent to me. so far I have not that many followers and its really hard to keep up. But I try not to give up so far.

I am glad that you posted the video here and I just finished watching it. Nice to meet you! I loved it when you said that members can post their passion and be able to get a basic income for it, (thanks to you) and not have to worry about if a whale will ever come. Love it! : )
I also like the 2.0, rewarding members for community engagement.
Great work @josephsavage! : )

Thanks for your support!

I realized while watching the video after that I never tied back Moby Dick to my main point; I just left it hanging. I think most people will have made the connection though. Steem is full of whale-hunters, and I think there is a better way!

what is 2.0 rewardings?

In the video, he talked about what his next plan is and called it, "Steem Basic Income 2.0" which is rewarding members for community engagement.

Great initiative

I have got an upvote at every post I made, thank you to @sumatranate and @steembasicincome

Regards

so have I sometimes it is the only one :-) I have sbi for 4 or 5 , I love it, I wish real life would also have benefits from a basic income.

I think you should have had an upvote from @steembasicincome or @sbi1 or @sbi2 or @sbi-(n), with bigger percentage @janine-ariane. Sbi will upvote each post you made

I know! i did have for each post :-)

Great video, I liked that you added the names of all the speakers in the video. I always look forward to my daily SBI upvote. Keep up the great work Joseph.

Loved it :D
Nice presentation and amazing system.
Cheers Joseph :D

Thanks! We published the presentation a couple of months ago after the previous conference, but we figured it was a good time to share it again.

It was very informing and made me chuckle when the temperature went up before you went on to speak.

I get that when I play gigs... Dam nervous man.
I don't think I could speak like that to a crowd, but when you have something awesome to tell and you know your onions, it must be a brilliant buzz!
Also to be in another room full of steemians!! It must be brill.
Like one big happy family :D

Cheers.

It was pretty awesome. Looking forward to the next conference in September!

Awesome :D
Plenty of time for prep then!! :)

I will be rootn for ya buddy and look forward to watching the replay or livestream :D
Cheers.

Cool. I just joined and sponsored my husband. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55