Ulog 23: Garden Update ๐Ÿ…๐ŸŒถ๐Ÿฅ’๐ŸŒฑ๐ŸŒบ

in #dlive โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

Hi SteemFam! @yogajill here! First time blogger on dLive & Steemit!

What a day! In the video, i show you progress on the growing zucchini & a bit of the garden as it looks today. In the heat of our growing season. This is my entry for the August Edition of Garden Journal 2018 by Steemit's very own @simplymike

20180807_111135.jpg

First order of showing off: Not one but THREE blossoms in just a few days since i posted the first pic of this purple flower. This little sweetie tucked in well behind the water barrel.

20180807_105926.jpg

...i am such a lover of all the flowers ๐Ÿ˜โค๐ŸŒน i tried planting flowers in my sisters garden but i guess i got all the flower love. Haha, she's just not into them like I am. How about you? What's your take on flowers?

What else is happening in the garden? The runner bean seeds are just BOOMING! These three seeds were a gift mailed out to me from way far away on the east coast of Canada by @lyndsaybowes early last year. We sprouted and seeded them this year. One plant in partucular is going wild! The other two are doing well too but, this one is thriving! Outside the fence greeting passersby on the sidewalk & the street.

20180807_110058.jpg

...and, on the inside of the fence too. I am hoping to save lots of the seeds from this plant and pass them along in gifts over the winter to gardening friends everywhere! Come on runner beans! Grow, grow, grow!! #foodisfree

20180807_110124.jpg

The carrots, onions and garlic are doing great.

20180807_113043.jpg

The zucchini is also BOOMING!

Screenshot_20180807-113954.jpg

The potatoes....still not so much.

Screenshot_20180807-114147.jpg

Overall, this urban garden is doing wonderfully! #growfoodnotlawn

Screenshot_20180807-114625.jpg

At my home patio garden things are looking excellent too! There's a pepper almost ready!

20180807_105642.jpg

Strawberries! Yum ๐Ÿ“

20180807_105534.jpg

And, yay for lots of tomatoes. Hopefully, i will be able to cook up some salsa soon with all this garden goodness ๐Ÿ…๐ŸŒถโค if i have one goal this summer canned salsa is it!! ๐Ÿคธโ€โ™‚๏ธ ๐Ÿคนโ€โ™‚๏ธ๐Ÿคธโ€โ™€๏ธ

20180807_105704.jpg

The 'little bush' is still growing. That's it there behind me.

20180807_105754.jpg

Two zucchini plants are growing, and one lil' pepper plant. I think the grass is just too high. Blocking out too much sun. These plants have been totally left to mother nature.

20180807_105816.jpg

20180807_105725.jpg

We might still see squash from them yet.

I think i shared this plant with you way back in the winter. A little sprout popped up and began growing away. We watered the house plant with compost water and a seed went and got itself into a pot. Now look!! Isn't this totally awesome? A green pepper! It's bigger in real life than it looks in the picture. Grow, grow, grow!! Haha. Life is so much fun!!

20180807_110623.jpg

Thank-you so much for taking a look at my prides and joys โค #growingislife

Do you grow?

Love & Blessings Always SteemFam & Friends โค Namaste ๐Ÿ™

20180407_115834_0001.png

U5druHnkqDRoQNKyy7Guixs1YjEqFB5_1680x8400.jpeg

DQmNouEDFYRmvhF1BSvgeeeZBx4eqbi99sfAgRWsn15c36g.png

Join the Ulog Movement! Learn more about it here

All pictures taken with my phone camera. Virtue Circle banners by @harvardhomestead Learn more about The Virtue Circle here

ASAPERS banner by @shai-hulad

dscf4134-editb_w.jpg

My video is at DLive

Sort: ย 

It look like you are doing a great job with the fruit and veggies. You look after your plants and they will look after you.
The beans are looking great and lots of tomato's :-)

Not too shabby for an urban garden! I love flowers too. So my garden is filled with flowers, veggies and fruit. I love those runner beans! They are just wild. My second crop of tomatoes now have flowers. I can't wait because I just love my tomatoes straight from the vine!

Wow wow wow looking so beautiful.... and the gardens not bad either ๐Ÿ˜† you can trim the grass and make some awesome fertilizer ( compost tea) for the plants with it.... it only takes a week to brew it - everything is food. Well done my friend, what a blessing to behold this garden is and the flowers from @lyndsaybowes are just perfect, nice one Lyndsay๐Ÿ˜๐ŸŒด๐ŸŒˆ๐Ÿฆ‹๐Ÿ’›โค๏ธ

Awww! Peace and Love to you too Jill, thanks for the virtual tour, as well as all the beautiful photos! The miracle green pepper looks so great, soooooo shiny :) The backyard #growfoodnotlawns is going amazingly. YAY for squash babies!! The guerrilla garden is trooping along too, outstanding!

It always makes me feel so loved & blessed when you drop by Lynds โค to think you've been a proponent of #growfoodnotlawn for so long! Which i habe appreciated for so long. Lovin' the progress on the garden! But, feels like i haven't seen much of yours in a while. I am going to pop over to your blog n see what i missed. Hope you & family are enjoying summer holidays. Hugs! โคโœŒ

I'll be doing a video in a couple days, touring the grounds! <3 <3

I love hearing from you too Jill <3 Every day I'm so happy you are here!!!

You got a plankton sized upvote from @worksinsane because your post appeared in the We Curate quality post search tool. It is a web art thingy thing that searches posts which fulfill predetermined rules. Upvoting isn't automated, @worksinsane reads posts before upvoting.

For more information read the latest post: https://steemit.com/wecurate/@worksinsane/we-curate-9

Thank-you so much! From one plankton to another โœŒ๐ŸŒป

Your garden looks fantastic! I am a lover of flower too, even though I've never had a flower garden on my own. Matt doesn't lie growing anything that doesn't offer something in return, and just being pretty doesn't cut it with him so for now I grow nasturtiums! Ha ha ha! When we have our own place though, I plant on growing lilacs, delphiniums, and lupines because we will need to attract the pollinators! Right?! We had delphiniums at an acreage we rented and it brought us so many bees and hummingbirds. It was love at first sight. Cheers, Aimee

Things are going great in your garden, @yogajill.
I'm especially envious of those runner beans. I actually had to go look up what they are, and I never even heard of them. They look awesome. Are they edible?

Way to go on the zucchinis and the tomatoes. Our tomatoes are going strong too, but the zucchini plant hasn't even grown one zucchini yet. Other years, we get so many that our entire freezer is filled with zucchini soup, but this year it simply won't work.
Hedoeshave a whole lot of leaves, so I'm going totrim the plant tomorrow. Maybe it will help him to grow at least one, lol.

As promised, I had upvoted this post woth 100% VP, but then I noticed it had already reached post-payout. Since the vote wqs useless, I tookit away again and gave it to oneofyour more recent posts, the beautiful hibiscus flowers.

Thank-you so much for taking a look at the content of my garden update post โค And, for your upvotes. Thank-you! The runner beans are still blooming strongly with their beautiful red blossoms. If i recall correctly they are late to make beans. Which are big & very yummy to eat. Perhaps i can send you some seed in the mail over the winter, do maybe you can enjoy a few plants next season too. They have now grown much taller than the fence! Really a very cool plant in all. I wish you the best of luck with your zucchini plant. I have never heard of trimming leaves on a plant. It seemed like ours bloomed for ages before the zucchs started. But, the dize of the flowers is unreal! They are much larger than the palm of my hand! And, i don't have small hands either ๐Ÿ˜‚. I wonder if compost tea might help the plants to fruit. All the best to you my gardening friend ๐ŸŒฑ๐ŸŒ„๐Ÿฑ

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63956.04
ETH 3066.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31