Sort:  

it's been a while since an employer asked for my high school transcripts.

In the modern economy an academic degree is becoming less and less important, as employers know they teach nonsense at institutions and graduates aren't very qualified. As long as you know what you are doing you can easily get a job. I wouldn't send a kid to college unless he/she wanted to become an engineer/doctor/scientist or other STEM related field. If he she wanted a career in the computer science field I would tell them to skip college and learn on their own if they had aptitude.

that and you can just get an online degree or certificate if you need it for something. Walmart employees can attend online university for $1 a day. Indeed, the richest guy I know is a college drop out.

I don’t know... the point still stands. There are plenty of colleges that look at grades, and plenty of jobs that look at degrees. Not finishing school at all is generally considered a lack of responsibility, and if given the choice between someone who did and someone who didn’t - all other things being equal - you’d be hard-pressed to find an employer who would choise a low grade drop-out over an A student graduate.

Hi pholosopher! I just found you and really enjoy your posts. It’s so encouraging to see those like yourself who value true understanding and right action. If it weren’t for people like you, I would most certainly pull every hair out of my head. And though I’ve been bald before and told I have a good head, you give me options. For this - and so much more - I thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80