Tricking my dog into loving her dry dog food :P

in #dog5 years ago

My dog isn't exactly a picky eater, but like a lot of dogs out there, she is less than thrilled at the prospect of her 1/2 cup of dry dog food in the morning and evening. I had another dog in the past that was the same way and I had to use some pretty creative methods of getting her to eat including using barbecue sauce on the kibbles.... and many times she would simply lick all the BBQ sauce off and leave the kibbles behind.

My methods in the past have included "either eat that or starve" and attempting to change to a fancier brand. I now have a method that seems to work for my doge-friend and it doesn't involve "people food" at all.


source

When my dog decides to go on a hunger strike, I have no idea what triggers it. We have used the same dog food for years and some days she gobbles it up as soon as it hits the bowl, other days she will just lie next to the bowl for hours and not eat any of it. It is funny when this happens because even though she clearly has no intention of eating the food, her doggy-protective-instincts switch on and she will growl at me if i get close to it. She's funny.... there is now way she could hurt anyone with her "rice teeth."

62127184_622173224950904_8874785743717793792_n.jpg

This can o' delights can be purchased for around $1.50 pretty much anywhere. I am quite certain that my little princess would like to receive ONLY this, but I think that her nose takes over once I mix maybe a tablespoon of this stuff with the kibbles that just a few minutes ago she was absolutely refusing to have anything to do with.

62190698_376271653232382_2078760108224937984_n.jpg

One can of this stuff lasts about a week and I gradually reduce how much of it I am putting on the food and she is such an idiot (just kidding of course) that she doesn't even realize that the formula is changing.

I don't know what brings on this lack of appetite. I think dogs just feel a little under the weather just like we do from time-to-time and she just needs a little push to convince her to chow down. After all, she's gonna need the calories for all the vigorous activities she gets up to later.

62208992_485268665618518_2214801865885876224_n.jpg

Sort:  

I literally have to stand over my dog and praise him every bite he takes to get him to even try the food.. he abhors the stuff.. must taste like dog food. You would think he's starving himself out of spite.. but I know that he secretly waits until im out of the room and then runs over to scarf down the leftover cat food.. 😡 lol, oh well..

i've always wondered that about Cat food... is it really that much better? I mean it almost certainly contains the exact same crap right? Hmmmm.

Apparently it's not good for dogs, a lot more salty. But trying to break the habit is not easy

Posted using Partiko Android

Yea man dogs can be funny! We have 2, and one of them will eat anything, any time, and pretty much just inhale food or anything he thinks you’re giving him to be food. The other is so delicate and sensitive it’s almost strange that a dog can be like that, and takes his time to eat and waits to sniff what you’re giving him etc. However, he still gets soooo excited when it’s food time it’s crazy! Hilarious too 😂

You are very good at trucking your doggo!
Sometimes my cats just walked away from my food too!

She has nice little cozy seat, and stuff toys that's nice also dogs have mood swings too maybe that is only why she refuses to eat sometimes, also what's the name of this beautiful lady?

Your princess is beautiful and very tender! cheating a dog is not easy, many times they apply intelligence to the maximum and do not eat anything. Sometimes I think they get bored with the same food, so I try to give my dog a different meal a week.

Our dog does this occasionally too and we buy the expensive dog food because she has an allergy to a lot of the other stuff. I hate having to spend so much, but it is so worth it just for the energy and other benefits that it gives her. Usually if I put her food out in the morning and she doesn't eat, I just leave it and she will immediately scarf it down in the evening. If she doesn't eat until dinner we don't typically feed her again, we just start over again the next day. Some days she will eat both of her meals with no problem. It is hard to say what is going on in her head :)

that's so amazing and I love the way you take care of her and her diet. And the amazing fact is you notice every single thing that when she is eating and when she don't.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22