Getting Ready For An Adjustment

in #dogs5 years ago

4b8236e8-3be8-44e1-b1e2-df9f9aae78cd.jpeg


I’ll be leaving in about 15 minutes to head to the animal chiropractor. He works on horses, dogs, cats, and other animals and has a great track record. I’ll be bringing my girl Bindi in the hopes of her gaining back some more mobility in those hind legs...or at least slowing down the inevitable.

I’ve written about it a few times already but she has been having some issues with her hind legs the past year or so. We believe it to be Degenerative Myelopathy, which is basically when the nerve endings on the spinal cord die away...causing paralysis. It usually starts in the hind quarters and slowly works it’s way up. There is no pain involved which is the only good thing about this miserable disease.

Last week she ended up having a rough couple of days where she couldn’t stand up from a laying down position. Could have just been a bad couple of days. She has since recovered nicely. Maybe it was just time and rest that was needed. Or maybe it could be the medicinal oil I made and the first chiro adjustment that has made the difference thus far. Who knows?!?

All I know currently is she’s doing very well and is able to get up on her own again. She still is weak at times and stumbles around like a bit of a drunk...but I’ll take that. She’s happy and full of life still which keeps me going.

So she lies in the yard currently, soaking in the sun until we leave for her appointment in a few minutes. Man, she really is a beautiful pup. Right?!?

Hoping that we see even more of an improvement over the next several sessions. 🤞

❤️


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Hope all goes well mate.

Thx a ton. She’s doing ok. Still wobbly but sleeping better through the night. Third appointment this week.

Posted using Partiko iOS

No doubt a beautiful pup, hope her legs keep improving.

Thx Simon. Not really sure if it’ll improve much. I hope so but the main focus is to prevent it from deteriorating further at a somewhat rapid rate. Basically slow it the F down! Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, I hope it goes well too - good luck with the visit. Hopefully she gets some mobility back

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, that’s the hope. I think it’s definitely helping a bit. 3rd visit this week.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Excellent - those dogs man... they are something else, but worth it

Posted using Partiko Android

I had a similar problem with my labrador mix years ago. The issue with her mobility seemed to negatively affect me considerably more than it did her. Dogs are funny like that huh? Never complain... just make due with what they have.

Hoping for the best though. Good luck!

Yup. They just keep trucking through the tough times. They are resilient and amazing creatures. We could do to take a few pointers from them.

I definitely dwell on the health of my pups so I know what you mean when you spoke about your angel.

Much love my friend.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Love you, Bindi! You have the best daddy in the whole world. :)

Much love my friend. Very kind of you. Oh, she said she loves ya too.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ahh Bindi. 😍 Hope the doc can make some really beneficial adjustments for her. 🤗

That’s the hope! I think it’s helping...she’s been able to get up for the most part with little to no problem 98% of the time the past couple weeks. That’s an improvement. Still wobbled like a drunk but that will probably stay.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89