This Old GirlsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #dogs5 years ago (edited)

EA28AFD9-DCED-4660-8DD5-0FFEB3B3A330.jpegBindi

I woke this morning to put the pups out and I noticed my girl Bindi was laying down on the rug in the living room. 99.9% of the time she ends up sleeping in our bedroom. Then when I went to get her up I noticed she was struggling a bit in her back legs.

This is nothing new. She’s been having little issues with her hind legs for a bit now. We have been giving her a mixture of CBD Oil, Cetyl M, Glucosamine, and Fish Oil which seemed to have helped a ton in the past year. A significant and noticeable improvement. Today was a bit rough for me though. She would walk fine for a bit and then her back legs would get weak and she would just droop down. She showed no signs of pain but I can see that she just didn’t have much strength in those old back stems of hers today. Hoping tomorrow will be better for her after a day of rest.

She’s acting completely normal besides that. Just weaker in the back which has happened before. I’ve seen a rougher day for her mobility wise here and there over the past year or so but they always have corrected itself within a day or two. Fingers crossed that the pattern repeats.

E36968DB-61C2-483F-8027-4A355304C00C.jpegMaya (back) & Bindi (front)

Regardless, the girls were happy to have some snow this morning...even if it was only a dusting. These little shits are made for this weather and always have a blast in it. When I had my full pack, the 4 of them would romp around in the snow and wrestle. On the big snowfalls they would be covered but would mush their way through and make paths in the yard. Pure bliss. I remember going out with them and loosely packing a bunch of snowballs to play catch with my boy Bandit. He was great at catch but was always baffled as to where it magically went as his jaw snapped shut on the ball...crushing it to snow dust. I would pack 20 of them and he would not get bored. He’d catch. Wonder. Then get ready for the next. Rinse. Repeat. I miss that greatly.

I am glad that the girls got to wander a bit today in whatever joke of a snowfall this was. It’s probably better it wasn’t a tremendous one as I think Bindi would have a ton of trouble getting through it. If it does happen, I’ll definitely have to clear potty paths for her. We will cross that bridge when we reach it though. For now, I’ll reminisce about the days of playing outside in the snow with my pack. Bandit, Bindi, Kitano, & Maya. Ill cherish those sweet memories and hold them near and dear to my heart. I’ll be sad those days are the past and that the boys are no longer by our side, but I’m grateful those days existed at all.

In the meantime, I’ll enjoy seeing my perfect girls romping around in their element. ♥️

Blewitt

Sort:  

This reminds me @blewitt I used to spent hours in the front garden sometimes playing with the dogs, mine never got to see snow, but I can imagine just how much fun you must of had with the full pack out there while it snowed..oh gosh.

hell yeah. they lived for the snow. it was their element!!!

Sweet read. Sad to hear about the old legs failing, quite common in some breeds. Hopefully not her time yet, and the oils will help some more.

Yeah, they told us a few years back that her spine was deteriorating at a slow pace which could affect her hind legs. But it hasn’t been much of a problem.

We had a bad scare last year in March. I thought it was the beginning of something called Degenerative Myelopathy. Basically for like a week last year, right before I joined here...her back legs would kick out backwards and she would collapse. No pin once again which is the symptom. Basically the nerve endings just die and the pup will eventually lose control over the legs. Lots end up with wheels to get around. I did a ton of research at the time. We started giving the supplements mentioned and Then it just magically stopped. I have a video of it I’ll dig out and try to post today. It was so scary to watch. I was pretty freaked out. The video is of me taking her for a walk and that just happening over and over. You’d watch that and go “that’s not good” and think the end is near. But it wasn’t. It was like a rebirth and ages been amazing ever since. Yesterday was different. No spazzing and kicking out. Just dropping as if there were no strength in her to hold it up at times but I just got her up this morning to go to the bathroom and she looked good. I’ll evaluate her through the day and hope that yesterday was just a bad day. My old girl still has a ton left in the tank I believe.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Glad to hear she's bucked up this past day or so, it sounds pretty heart-breaking to watch.

Some friends of mine had an Alsatian cross and her hind legs failed before anything else. A common problem in the breeding I gather. They are total stoners but I don't remember them trying CBD oil - although they are based in the UK so I'm not sure it was even an option.

Reminds me I need to get back on the fish oil - a luxury purchase for me at present!

Yeah, I’m doubling up her dosing on the supplements currently. Hoping it starts helping. The weather got really cold and shorty and that’s when this started. Of it continues I’ll have to take her in to the vet and start her on arthritis meds. Been trying to hold off as long as possible on it as they have side effects but if it’s a last resort, I’ll do it.

It is totally tough watching them start to struggle a bit.

As for your friends, really sorry to hear that. Guessing the pup ended up passing? So sad.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think a good call to hold off on the meds for as long as possible - tough to gauge as they sadly can't tell you exactly how much grief they are in.

My friends decided to have her put down. Clearly a mega-tough decision but they felt things were getting too painful and didn't want her to be suffering. Really tough call.

Yup. It’s the toughest call I’ve ever had to make and one that haunts you. Even when it’s the right one. Clearly the hardest part of having a pup.

Posted using Partiko iOS

CBD oil is a god send

Yeah it does work wonders! Do you currently use?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @blewitt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 550 posts. Your next target is to reach 600 posts.
You made more than 41000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 42000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks. Love seeing these stack up!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blewitt from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I love you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30