Best dog breeds: Mutts

in #dogs5 years ago

This is a bit of a disclaimer that I had in my previous article about another breed I have experience with.

I know how sensitive people can get about their dog and trust me when I say that I am totally with you. I would quite easily "rage-kill" anyone who harmed my doge, so I understand this notion. When I make this list I want people to understand that I am not a veterinarian nor have I owned a great many dogs in my life (just one at a time.) However, these breeds are the best breeds that I have experienced in my life.

Mixed-breed or "Mutts"

About my 2nd year of college I went down the usual path of doing something incredibly dumb that was also incredibly rewarding: I got a dog despite the fact that I wasn't really even that good at looking after myself. She was a Black Lab mixed with something


source

I have no idea what kind of dog she was mixed with and the vets could only guess without doing an expensive blood test. I wasn't going to bother because this knowledge wouldn't have changed anything.

I acquire "Kya" after observing her living in a pen the size of a bathroom for a year and a half. She never left this pen and the owners would pour dog food into a dispenser and for the most part she drank water out of puddles. She was literally never not in this pen. Rather than call animal services, myself and my military buddies did a "cover opp" one night when we jumped the fence and liberated her from her prison. From that day forward, "Kya" had a very different life.

d8cz9w2mmely.jpg
source

From the very start Kya was a very easy dog to handle and I like to believe that this loyalty was her thanks for me dramatically changing the enjoyment level of her life. She was my shadow. The best thing was that she never really took to chewing up stuff and learned various tricks very quickly. My favorite one involved a beanbag chair that I called her "nest" and anytime she was getting all up in the grill of visitors I would say "Kya! Go to your nest" and without fail, she would comply and then look at me intently, waiting for further instructions.

It isn't possible for some sort of study to show that mixed-breeds are "smarter" than purebred dogs because there are so many varieties. However, we have to consider that most purebreeds were actually mutts themselves at one point in time (that would be an interesting study that probably exists!) However, it has been my experience with my friends that there is a noticeable difference in how much easier mutts are to train than certain purebred dogs that already exist.

My experience with "Kya" was a near effortless one. She simply seemed to "know" what I wanted her to do or not to do. She was never a issue as far as house-training was concerned, but this may have been because she had spent her entire life doing her bathroom business outdoors anyway. Plus the ol' adage of "don't S**T where you eat" literally applied to her for most of her life when she was living in that tiny little fenced-in pen.

tl;dr

This quickly turned into a story about my personal experience and I suppose that was always gonna happen since it is the only information I really have to draw from. One benefit that I didn't mention in the above article is the fact that when you take on a "mutt" (which is short for "muttonhead," by the way) you are doing a great service to the high level of unwanted mixed-breed dogs that exist in the world.

No dog is a walk in the park as far as responsibility is concerned, but it has been my experience that they tend to be easier to train than a great many of the pures that exist out there.

Sort:  

I love them, they are the most grateful and lovely dogs ever, I still remember one time I rescued two little dogs from the street, they were sick and i took care of them for a few months, it was a beautiful experience.

I sometimes feel a bit guilty for having a purebred dog, but in a way she was a rescue herself since the original owner didn't want her anymore - which is one of the worst things you can do in my opinion. Good on ya for looking after those strays!

Kya is a very beautiful dog. Those dogs are very noble, loving and obedient. I love dogs, these last days I have dedicated some publications to my beloved. Taking care of these animals is to know another level of unconditional love. Many blessings to you, friend @gooddream.

when I saw your little black dog, I remembered mine. Her name is Mika. It's not really my pet, it's my cousin's, but my cousin left the country and left me in charge of her dog. She is a very intelligent, affectionate and playful dog. Soon I will have to move to another place and when I do Mika will be in charge of other people, and I will miss her very much, she is very sweet!
Kya is very pretty and photogenic, I'm glad you could change her life, just as she changed yours.
Here's a picture of Mika, my beautiful black.
mika.jpg

i am glad you guys pulled of this undercover operation as what a cruel existence she was living. The brains in the mixed breed is definitely the Labrador. I have a chocolate brown one and she is no dummy. They are used as rifle dogs to go and fetch whatever has been shot which is normally birds as they swim like a fish. My one has webbed feet and made sense why she spends hours in the pool everyday.

yeah, i have seen Labs mixed with pretty much whatever and they normally end up being pretty clever animals.

Kya is adorable, I hope you still have her. also, that rescue mission was unbelievable. That's simple great.
Keep flourishing!

I love my mutt. I am so glad we found her and were able to rescue her. She looks a lot like the dog in the first picture. I had never had an indoor dog before and my wife was working a second job at the time, so I did a horrible job training her. She is still just wild and I wish I had it to do over again. At this point she is about nine and I am not sure if there is any changing her habits. We did have a crate setup for a while and I would always say go to your crate to get her to calm down. Even now when I say it, she lays right now. For about a second...

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87