Have you ever eaten a dog treat?

in #dogs5 years ago

This question was brought to my attention about 4 months ago when I was visiting the USA at a girl's house that I have known for a very long time.


source

My doggo gets probably considerably more treats than she deserves. She is just too cute for me to not hand them out and well, she is extremely well-behaved so why not? I had never really considered what it is about them that makes them so desirable because I'll tell you, she is relatively indifferent to dog food. Sometimes I have to be super convincing in order to get her to eat it.

56340062_2419990584680496_3219828658441027584_n.jpg
she got this one because she walked up the stairs on her own-which honestly isn't much of an accomplishment

When prompted with "Have you ever eaten a dog treat" i realized that no, I have not... not ever. So me and my friend tried one and well, I don't know how to describe the taste but "delicious" would not be one of the adjectives that I would use.

So what is it that makes my (and almost all other) dog(s) love these things so much? That sounds like a question for scientists employed at Purina. The thing that this conundrum makes me think about even moreso is the fact that if my fluff-bunny get's all gaga about these relatively tasteless and super-dry biscuits.... what on earth does regular dog food taste like? It must just be awful.

56952804_407771849802696_3006880430398898176_n.jpg
a little bit of doggy drool in anticipation of another disgusting dry treat!

In the meantime, my little fluff-lovey will continue to get completely undeserved treatie-pies well into the foreseeable future. However, after eating one of them (and spitting it out, mind you) I really don't understand what is going on with a dog's taste buds. Perhaps that is why they are always trying to eat 2-week old chewing gum off the sidewalk.

Sort:  

I haven't but I caught my sons friend. He used to come and collect him in the morning and go to work together. I have always got snacks around and he used to mop them off every morning. I repackaged some doggie drops and left them for him and he ate them all. I never told him as I still do it every now and then.

Hahaha!!! Yes I have actually... when I was about 5 lol but then at that age I used to eat my bubblebath bubbles too hahaha!!! And yeah, whilst I dont actually remember the taste I will definitely agree with the "not delicious" sentiment haha.

Haha me too! I have eaten dog biscuit and dog chocolate... when I was much younger of course ;)

Oh! I thought you were going to review some dog treats!! Hahaha!
My friends used to cook doggie can food for their dozen dogs and one of them told me that it tasted really good. So, my friend couldn’t help eating dogs’ food while cooking it!! I was invited to have a taste but I had to decline the offer!

Your doggo looks so well groomed and good manner!! She’s a sweetie, I really like her a lot too! Wouldn’t mind dog sitting if I were in Chiengmai!

Posted using Partiko iOS

funny you would mention the dog sitting because I actually need that right now. However, i employed a doggy hotel. Expensive, but my precious is worth it

My husband has munched a kibble on more than one occasion, and both times I just stared at him like someone ought to stare after witnessing another person willingly eating animal byproducts. It does actually mold though, which I take as a good sign. That can't be said for all human foods. Maybe I will ask him what it tasted like. Nah, I think I know. Cardboard.

I have eaten a dog meat but not its treats LOL. You can't blame me it's a culture thing. @gooddream

well i have actually done that as well so no, i will not judge you.

I must confess that I have eaten a dog biscuit (or 2) and some doggy chocolate! The biscuit was gross and sure wasn't for the human pallet! However, the chocolate wasn't bad... I didn't like it, but it wasn't bad. Now, I couldn't eat tinned dog food haha! My digs have dry food nd I sure wouldn't eat that either! I probably shouldn't have eaten any but hey....

it was all in the name of science. I commend your efforts.

It definitely has a peculiar smell that makes one recognise that it's dog really, so I don't actually eat however I'm always presented it, I find it to be offensive feeding on man's best friend however I think mostly the Asians considers it a treat

I also treat my dog very beautifully. Beacause i love my dog. He is so cute. His eyes his hair is so beautiful. You dog are also very cute and beautiful. I really like ypur dog hair. My dog only eating food in my hand. Hahahaha you eat your dog food. I can not eat my dog food. And i thing its not delicious. Dogs are also very animal.

Well I have but not the store-bought - too much for both pets and humans is not good - unsafe-crap. I make them from a simple recipe of wheat flour natural peanut butter oats and pumpkin. They are yummy and he loves them and moreover - safe. Just give him small portions otherwise - my short legs - big attitude dachshund gets overweight like me - LOL.
52667999_10213717533072486_1891747078854410240_n.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17