The best dog breeds (in my experience): Shelties

in #dogs5 years ago

I know how sensitive people can get about their dog and trust me when I say that I am totally with you. I would quite easily "rage-kill" anyone who harmed my doge, so I understand this notion. When I make this list I want people to understand that I am not a veterinarian nor have I owned a great many dogs in my life (just one at a time.) However, these breeds are the best breeds that I have experienced in my life.

"Sheltie"

The Shetland Sheepdog or "Sheltie" originates from Scotland and much like most of the people I have met from there, it was fiercely loyal and very smart.

Our family dog from my childhood was a Sheltie and when we got her, she could fit in the palm of your hand. She was incredibly easy to train and by the time she was an adult she knew every trick in the book. When visiting, my grandfather taught her how to jump through a hoop on command in ONE AFTERNOON. She never forgot that trick and this is just amazing.

Our Sheltie never made a mess of the house and could reliably be left alone with a plate of steak in front of her and never touch it. She was also extremely attached to all of us, especially my mother who spent the most time with the dog by virtue of being a housewife. "Dusty" would be her shadow at all times and to the day that Dusty died, the dog would follow my mother anywhere she went. As kids we would have days on the calendar that Dusty was going to stay in our rooms written on the calendar. She always started in your room but after a few hours she would be at your bedroom door whining and scratching the door (in a docile way, she was too small to cause any damage) until you opened it for her in order for her to return to my mother's side.


source

All the Shelties I have encountered have hair 3-4 inches long and while it requires some level of maintenance, it never seems to grow beyond this length. I'm sure it does grow beyond this length, but it must fall out (oh, they shed quite a lot so you need to be willing to deal with that)

The males are considerably larger than the females in this breed and while this is something you could just find on the internet I realized this when our next door neighbors just happened to have a male Sheltie around the same age as Dusty. He was quite a lot larger than "Dusty" but his temperament and intelligence was the same.

These dogs tend to be quite expensive: A Sheltie from a non-champion bloodline can be expected to cost $500 - $800. Registered AKC "champion bloodline" Shelties will fetch several thousand dollars easily. They are worth every penny.

Dr Stanly Coren, a globally renowned pet psychologist (yes, that is a real thing) ranks the Sheltie as the 6th most intelligent breed of dog on the planet. While i have not been exposed to the other 131 breeds, I can already tell you that I agree with Stanly.

Sort:  

This dogs with long hair have a hard life in Thailand.

oh for sure. We had this dog when we lived in the US. When i see a dog with long hair in Thailand I kind of feel bad for them because they are always hot. This is also true for my current animal, but I take her to the doggy beauty salon at least once a month to get her hair chopped so she can be more comfortable.

You take care your dog really well like me. The dog is your best friend.

I love dogs, @gooddream, all breeds look like beautiful creatures to me. This is a beauty, her look is a tenderness. At home I have three pooddles and they are very spoiled, they are attached to us and cry for sleeping in our rooms, but they obey and attend to the call to sleep and each one goes to his little bed. I know what it feels like when a puppy dies, throughout my life I have always had and I have already seen some die :(

Dogs are amazing creatures. Some of my friends find it bizarre how much time, money, and attention i shower my doge with... but to me it just seems like the right thing to do. I regret nothing :)

Personally, I think every dog humans breed have their problems.
Most would not survive in nature.
It is shocking how vulnerable dogs are for all kind of illnesses.
Loyal and fierce every dog is, it is what animals are till humans want them to be different.

Nice pictures.

Let me introduce you Mr Albert Kurkowski, one of the most known kynologist in Europe. @adalbertus

kynologist ?

Cynolog :) sorry for my english :/
BTW - why uncle Google didn't correct me?

OMG SOOOOOOO CUTE 💋💋💋💋💋

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

This reminds me of my old friend’ s dog in England. She’s a sweet but very smart Shetland Sheep dog called Flossy! She’s very loyal, quiet and gentle. She’s my ideal dog from them on. We used to go for long walks together during weekends. Those were the good old days! I do miss this wonderful and adorable Flossy!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Very interesting. I am pretty attached to my mutt. She is mostly lab, but there is some other stuff in her as well. We got her from animal control a couple of counties over. There are so many great animals out there I can't bring myself to pay a breeder. That being said, my pup has some trauma from before we got her that makes her difficult at times. We love her though and it's going to be really hard for us when her time is up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69