The Resurrection of Luke Skywalker.

in #dogs5 years ago

image

Happy pre-TGIF! 🤣🤣🤣 (as if there were such a thing)🤣🤣🤣

Remember young Luke Skywalker? The puppy we found dead by the roadside who came back to life?

He’s found himself a sponsor yay! Sending out a shout-out to Thiruniraiselvi Maniam for helping us take care of the Young Jedi! Lots and lots of love and good vibes your way always!

Here’s his story. Happy Reading!

If YOU would like to sponsor one of The Kids of TAP or find out other ways you can be part of the TAP P.I.A. (Partners In Aid) programme, drop us a DM. ❤️

July 29 2018.

It can get quite dark pretty early in the evening on the farm, which is why we try to make sure all our errand runs are done by 530pm. But today we were delayed. And so instead of coming home by 530pm I was heading out ‪at 530pm‬. So rare but it does happen on occasion.

It’s about 2km from our farm to the main road that connects us to the nearest town. Right across the turnoff live a pack of strays. One of them recently had a litter of which we often see two of her pups whenever we cross over to the neighbourhood sundry shop for emergency purchases on account of their ‘Cash Only’ business and the fact that their items are more expensive. These two pups are usually busy playing together as this pack watches over them while lounging in the mid day sun.

But today I didn’t see two pups playing. I saw one pup running around alone as the pack was circling around the other, smack in the middle of the highway, it’s mother trying to nudge it as it lay there lifeless on the road. The puppy wasn’t moving.

I went ‘OMG puppy!’ and made an immediate U-Turn, and as I parked and ran from my car to the pack that began dispersing, I found myself standing over this tiny little body that had no pulse, no colour, no life. I reached to carry puppy hoping that it might ignite a sudden gasp of air but instead his head went limp in my hands and all I could do was whisper ‘ohno puppy...’ as I walked over to the side of the road and lay him back on the soft cool green grass. He was gone.

There were no signs of what could have happened. Just a perfect puppy who I would never see playing again across the street.

I got back into my car and started crying. “I need to go back and take puppy home. He deserves a proper burial. He doesn’t deserve to rot away under the rain and sun.” I needed to get newspapers. And I still had to run my errands.

I found myself hastily finishing my tasks and with newspapers in the car I drove back to the farm, all the while an inner voice saying ‘go back for the puppy, go back for the puppy.’ He was still there when I reached the spot I laid him down. Except...he wasn’t in the same position I left him. Perhaps his mum, who was less than 20 feet away, may have tried to nudge him again. Poor Mama.

I was about to wrap the newspapers around his body and lift him when I saw it... ...the rise...and fall...of his tiny body... He was ALIVE!!! Can you freakin’ believe it?!? This tiny puppy that went limp in my arms just an hour earlier and had absolutely NO SIGN of life was BREATHING!

I quickly wrapped him up in my arms and as I entered my car, I looked back... ...and there she was...staring at me... ...please take care of him... His Mama. She knew.

image

I rushed back to the farm and screamed for David. He ran to the car and lifted puppy up, laid him on the garden table and immediately began instructing me to get him what he needed; sugar, a warm towel, water, put the dogs away. Puppy’s gums were white and his eyes rolled to the back of his head and his breathing was erratic and throughout all this I was still in complete shock.

This puppy was DEAD! Now he was ALIVE! What just happened?!? We spent the next two hours slowly syringing him water and sugar water, all the while keeping him warm and talking to him.

David said to me, “Seema, pray over him.” And I did. “Puppy, you were dead. You were lifeless in my hands. But you felt me. You felt the love I had for you in that instant I held you. And you knew you had to come back to me. So don’t die on me now. You knew I was coming back for you. May the love and light of the universe fill every cell and fibre of your being and know that you were worth coming back for. Know that you are loved. I got you puppy. Now you gotta have me too.” It’s been over four hours since the colour started returning to his gums. He woke up a few times to yawn then went back to sleep. The Force is strong with this one.

It turns out puppy here is a sibling to Yin & Yang, the two sister puppies that were dumped at our farm last week, we suspect, because they were females.

As the Force may have it, #TheYinYangTwins may leave us in two days to join their new family. In the spirit of honouring the balance in the Force, we have named puppy Luke Skywalker.

Tomorrow morning we shall know if the Force is indeed strong with this one.

Otherwise, LOVE will just have to keep him ALIVE.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30