Helo is Adorable, and Other Stuff

in #dogsofsteemit5 years ago

Let me just start this little post with a photo to brighten your day:

image.png

We went up to @somebuttstuff's house on the weekend to hang out and use his abundance of space to work on our van a bit. Helo spend the majority of the day basking in the sun. He gets cuter as he ages, which I didn't think was possible.

The van is finally starting to look less like a mess. Considering we have no idea what we're doing, we're pretty happy with how it's coming along.

image.png
@mstafford fixing up some gaps in his master woodworking..

We have to do a lot of sanding this week, but then the interior will be ready for a couple coats of paint.

image.png
Ok ok it still looks a mess but a more complete mess!

We decided to go with the white paint because a) it will cover our mistakes relatively well, b) we think it would be cool to paint some cool custom artwork by us on the walls/ceiling, so the white paint is a great blank canvas, and c) it will be nice and bright. I will probably add cedar accents too because I love cedar.

In other news, we pulled our first load of stones out of the tumbler on Saturday. They went right back in with the second grit for another week. But I took a couple pics first:

image.png
Ok this is blurrier than I thought but you get the idea.

image.png
You can see a couple of my Dallasite pieces in there... very exciting

The stones all felt silky smooth with no bumps or changing textures. I'm very interested to see how they look/feel after the second tumble...then the third...then the fourth. I'm not a patient person.

I'm hoping to incorporate some of them into my jewellery making. I have some additional gear to pick up at the post office this week that will help me overcome some issues (that I touched on in my last metalsmithing post) and then I'll be sitting down at the bench to dig in. I can't wait! I'll be sure to share the process here.

image.png
These are among the items I'm waiting for. They'll allow me to buff out scratches and polish pieces to a shiny finish.

Until then, peace & love!!

-Caitycat

Sort:  

The van interior is looking so good! I think white is a great choice, and I can't wait to see how artsy you can make it.

What's the plan for bike transportationaling? Will you get a rack, or are you happy chucking them in the back?

Thanks, man! It's such a fun ongoing project!
Well, the bike in the photo is actually going to a new home next week so we just have @mstafford's road bike to worry about. I'm not sure what we'll do- we talked briefly about a bike rack on the back. But we're planning on having a luggage roof rack eventually so maybe we can just toss it up there and strap it down. shrugs One thing is for sure- I definitely don't love just chucking them in the back! They're a pain in the ass so a solution is needed!

This whole video is great, and they remind me of you two a little bit, but here they've got their bikes lying on the roof:

Oh yeah! That's exactly what I was thinking!
Wow their van is beauuutiful! See @mstafford how cool their sink looks like that? That's how I wanted to do our copper sink hahahaha

God damn I love that dog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28