BELT SANDER TORTURE TEST REVIEW.........

in #doityourself5 years ago

IMG_0955.jpg

Hi guys! Getting ready to start the tile tomorrow morning, so I thought I would give you some product review (torture test) of 2 belt sanders that I use and abuse.

This belt sander in the picture is a brand new 3X21 WEN racer type model. I did say brand new, because I ran my original model until the brushes wore out and the company replaced it since it had a 2 year warranty-free!! I really like this sander as it's easy to use. I've spent hours using this sander. However for the moment, it will sit in the box until I stop abusing my current belt sander.

IMG_0954.jpg

IMG_0950.jpg

So here is a 3X21 belt sander that I picked up when I killed the first one. This is a Harbor Freight bargain belt sander. It's not quite as comfortable or pretty , but it is a powerful belt sander-actually more powerful than the WEN. The beauty of this one is that Harbor Freight offers a 2 year, 100% replacement, no questions asked, protection plan that was inexpensive to purchase. The cost on this belt sander with the protection plan was about $30 after a 25% discount. Normally, I don't purchase this type of protection, however, given my track record, I thought it was a good idea. The Harbor Freight sales clerk told me to just keep the receipt and 2 years from the date of purchase, regardless of working condition or not, just bring it back for a new one at zero cost. How do you beat that? Especially when I can burn brushes out in less than a year?..........and speaking of that, the Harbor Freight belt sander came with a second set of brushes - they must know @silvertop! So, I will run this belt sander for 2 years and then take it back and get a brand new one, free. I will still have my brand new WEN belt sander should I need it.

That is unless, @silvertop wants to pull both belt sanders out and have belt sander drag races across the floor!

Don't try this at home..........@silvertop is a professional, LOL!

Sort:  

Sounds like my kind of fun!!!

I don't think I ever grew up LOL

Hey @silvertop! Don't you think that belt sander drag races are gonna leave a mark on the floor? Any ideas how Mrs. @silvertop might take that? Just sayin'..............:)

Maybe it is good to use in polishing some metal surfaces with a fine grain sander.

I sand all of my wood with these, they really help speed up the finishing! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87