MY LAMINATE FLOORING QUEST FEBRUARY 8............. ARE WE THERE YET!!!!!!!

in #doityourself5 years ago

So many samples.............

IMG_1800.jpg

I really didn't think this was going to be this difficult........
So here we are with piles of wood and laminate samples..... Either I can just cover the floor with samples, or I can use the samples for firewood LOL!

1 The new contender: Natural Woods Hickory

This is engineered real Hickory wood laminated onto five layer's of plywood core that clicks and locks together.
On a scale of 1-5 the hardness of Hickory is a number four, this is a scratch resistant wood.
It also is coated with a seven layer finish ( they all seem to do this )
Not a bad price, I ordered one box to put together and look at for a week, and this is what I have.

IMG_1817.jpg

I do like this, and Mrs. @silvertop does too!

IMG_1819.jpg

#2 AVONDALE HICKORY:
This is Pergo Max, It too is real Hickory laminated onto a core.
I don't know if it is plywood all the way through or not I will be ordering one box to take home and lay out on the floor.

IMG_1799.jpg

I really didn't want a darker wood, but I have found out samples at the store are all way off in color. So the only true way to find out is to just buy a box and take it home. I will just return it if it doesn't work out.
This is actually what the store told me to do........ crazy huh.....
This wood also has the rustic look I want with hand scraping marks!!!
Now the sad thing is it's not in the store, I will need to special order this one box, look at it, and even if I like this flooring I was told" from the store" to return the one box and order my full amount to make sure it all matches!!!!!! Again Crazy Huh!!!!

IMG_1798.jpg

#3 RIVERS EDGE OAK:
This is made by a brand called Naturals
It also is a layer of real wood on a laminate core. Oak has a hardness of number 3 on the 1-5 scale
and it too is beautiful!

I started to look at engineered real wood flooring after researching and found out that this allows wider planks, that I really like.... and the flooring is much more stable with humidity and temperature swings
I have both up in the Northwest.

So this is taking way to long, but once I put it down it will be there a LONG time!
I hope you guys have patience..... @silvertop does but..... I really am getting to the point that I need to pull the trigger on something LOL!!!

Stay tuned ...... #2 and #3 will take about a week to special order in (:

Sort:  

Hi, @silvertop!

You just got a 0.02% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86