Domains in the Wild - Week 25

in #domains5 years ago

thumbnail.png

Week 25 (February 2019)


Welcome to Domains in the Wild. In this series I post images of domain names that I've spotted out and about in the real world. Then I write a bit about what I think of each one. It's easy to miss domain names, but they're all around us and play a key role in a companies branding, messaging and design. Spotting them and taking a photo is sort of a fun hunting game to play while you're out and it takes very little effort once you start looking for them. Once you start to play, you will start seeing domains everywhere without even trying.

If you catch any yourself, please share them with us all in the comments.

Without further delay, here are the domain names that I found in the wild recently...


The Domains

Just another handful of domains in the wild today. I found one on a bus, one on a sticker on the street, and one on a vehicle driving through town. A bit of variety and a domain on all different mediums. Enjoy!

Dolly.com

021219-2.jpg

The first domain up is Dolly.com. This is the domain I saw on the bus. It's belongs to a moving help and furniture delivery company. I've never used them before but from what I can tell they are like a lyft or uber but for moving help.

This is an excellent domain name. It's perfect for their business as it's a reference to a moving handcart also sometimes called a hand-truck or simply hand cart. It's short, one word, .com, instantly memorable. Perfect domain name.


SAF.org

021219-3.jpg

Next up is SAF.org. This domain belongs to an organization calling themselves the 'Second Amendment Foundation' or SAF for short. They appear to be a gun rights organization with a headquarters in Bellevue, WA.

I am a big fan of 3 letter .org domains. They are perfect for organizations and often times these organizations have a 3 letter acronym. In this example, the owner also goes by their acronym so it's a perfect fit domain name. The only caution I would mention with 3 letter .org domains as an investor is that sometimes the organizations after them are not for profit and may not have a lot of money to spend on a domain name, so be careful!


SVAonTheGo.com

021219-1.jpg

Finally, we have SVAOnTheGo.com. This domain belongs to a company of the same name SVA on the Go. They are a mobile service and a part of Seattle Veterinary Associates, hence the SVA.

I don't like this domain. I have said before that I don't like mixing acronyms and words in domains unless they are obvious acronyms that most people would know and recognize. That isn't the case with this example. It's a complicated looking domain and hard to read. It's also rather long and has vowels butting up against one another with the A and O.

Although not a fan of acronyms and words in combination with domain names, I instantly found a better option than what they are using now in this name that is available for only a registration fee... MobileSVA.com


Well, that concludes this edition of Domains in the Wild.


If you enjoyed this post or have some domains in the wild to share, leave them in the comments and get an UPVOTE from me!

Sort:  

The dolly.com one first made me thing of dolls. Then Dolly Parton. 😂🤣

Thanks for the comments @dfinney! When I first saw the ad I actually thought of dolls too! I don't know why but it didn't immediately make me think of moving, but after I read the full ad it made perfect sense. If you have any, post your caught domains in the wild here too! :)

Congratulations @plaid! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 150 posts. Your next target is to reach 200 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87