Donating To Dachshund Rescues: My Experiences and Insights

in #donating6 years ago (edited)

postcard-two-dachshunds-by-tree
This is an original, antique postcard I purchased off of Ebay several years ago.


I owned and administered a Dachshund oriented website for many years. I am slowly closing the site down. This post is from my site. It was originally written in October of 2012 though I did add to it from time to time.



I have donated to a number of Dachshund organizations over the past few years and now feel qualified to write this article. A strong belief I have is that you deserve to be thanked if you make a donation. The thank you can be a very simple one by e mail or a written thank you via the United States Post Office.

I realize there are those that wish to donate anonymously and that is fine. Others may not care if they are thanked but to me it is important. For example, if I donate $20 to a Dachshund organization I want them to show a bit of gratitude by saying thank you; I don’t think that is too much to ask.

Diamond Dachshund Rescue of Texas thanked me in writing both times I donated to them. Some of this perhaps had to do with tax type stuff but they nevertheless thanked me. It was a joy to get their correspondence of kind words with an image of a Dachshund. Way to go Diamond Dachshund Rescue of Texas! By the way, many Dachshund websites are Paypal enabled so making a donation is easy.

Foxy Doxy Dachshund Rescue from California sent me a thank you note in response to several of the times I donated to them. All Texas Dachshund Rescue sent me a thank you note both times I donated to them. Way to go Foxy Doxy Dachshund Rescue and All Texas Dachshund Rescue! I live in Oregon by the way in case anyone is curious.

Regrettably, I long ago deleted thank you e-mails I received per donations so cannot reference those organizations here. It never occurred to me back then that I would someday be writing this article---hindsight is 20/20 as they say.

Some doxie organizations have not thanked me at all so I won’t be donating to them anymore. One of my biggest donations to a Dachshund organization did not elicit any kind of gratitude whatsoever.

I recently saw one doxie website asking people to donate their old cars and in return you could claim the donation as a deduction on your taxes. In return the organization would then try to sell the car or salvage parts from it and then use the funds for their doxie needs. It just so happens that I have an old clunker I was considering donating to them. I am certain they would be able to squeeze $900-1500 dollars out of it. I e-mailed them inquiring about this and incredibly, and to my amazement, they offered no response whatsoever. Needless to say I won’t be contacting them again--they missed out on a substantial donation.

I will only give a repeat donation to doxie organizations which have showed some gratitude and I suggest others do the same. I realize it is all about helping the Dachshunds but there are MANY doxie organizations needing help and I’d rather deal with those that show some gratitude as opposed to those that do not.

All proceeds from my past website went to Dachshund charities. Most of the time, I donated the proceeds towards the end of the year. I don’t yet know who the recipients will be but it may be one or more of the ones referenced above. Do you know a Dachshund organization that would express gratitude if donated to? If so please let me know.

Thanks much!



The 2017 recipient of all proceeds from my site was:

Dachshund Adoption, Rescue & Education (DARE)

The following article describes some of the great work they are doing:

Hometown Hero: DARE Dachshund rescue

$100.00 was donated on December 31, 2017 via Paypal.



The 2016 recipient of all proceeds from my site was:

Dusty Puddles Dachshund Rescue

The following article describes some of the great work they are doing:

Dusty Puddles Dachshund Rescue gives short-legged feisty canines new lives

$175.00 was donated on December 28, 2016 via the PayPal Giving Fund.





The 2015 recipient of all proceeds from my site was:

DREAM Dachshund Rescue - Atlanta, North Georgia and Savannah area Dachshund Rescue

$168.00 was donated on 12/29/15 via paypal.

postcard_dachshund_endsmeet


Dream Dachshund Rescue gave me a very nice thank you on Twitter saying:


"Very honored! That will pay for two dogs to get all their shots and tests and spay/neuter. Grateful."




The 2014 recipient of all known proceeds from my site was Southern California Dachshund Relief Inc.


Please read about the awesome work done by this Dachshund organization in the following article:

For 16 years, La Habra woman sniffs out homes for rescued hounds

Orange County Register
Louis Casiano Jr.
July 30, 2014


PAID ON 12/31/14

*The down side is I did not keep a detailed account of how much my site earned for 2014 but I know I had a lousy year. So, I donated a flat amount of $100.00.

Here is the automated thank you I received:





The 2013 recipient of all proceeds from this site was Huskers Hope Dachshund Rescue from Nebraska.


Please see the following article regarding the awesome work performed by this Dachshund rescue:

Chapman comes to the rescue

Seward County Independent
Stephanie Hyland
September 4, 2013


$197.00 was donated on 12/30/13.
(they personally and warmly thanked me!)



A few thank you notes from the past:



doxie thank you

2012 recipient of 100% of all proceeds from my site was Foxy Doxy Dachshund Rescue. $305.00 was donated on 12/29/2012.




All Texas Dachshund Rescue

One






Diamond Dachshund Rescue of Texas
Diamond_Dachshund_Rescue2



seven











Please consider voting up, following, re-steeming, etc.

Thank you very much!



copyright 2018 missinglinks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21