dPet Halloween Contest 2018 — Happy Halloween from Curator Cat!

in #dpet-halloween5 years ago

Since we managed to snap the perfect picture the other day, I decided to enter @dpet's 2018 Halloween contest!

In case you're not familiar with it, @dpet is Steemit's pet lovers community, created by @kona as an extension of the popular and long-running #dailypetphotography challenge.

Let's start with the "main event;" this is the official contest entry, created by my Hooman after a rather long photo session finally resulted in a good photo, which she then added some graphic elements to:

CC0142Kitteh.jpg

But there was really a lot more to it than that.

This all started with the Hoomans waking me up from a nice nap with the words "Come on Shadow, we need to create some Halloween pictures!"

They started with the idea of the cat silhouette, like a vulture perched on something high, looking for its next victim. As you can see, I was SO not interested.

CC0142TopCat.jpg
Cat vulture? I don't THINK so...

Of course, the Mom-Hooman had brought out various Halloween decorations, including this basket. Which was a fine "cat trap," but I wasn't about to give them the pleasure of thinking I was a willing participant.

So whereas I did get in the basket, I immediately occupied myself with chewing on the twinkle light branch things.

CC0142Messing.jpg

Of course, the Hoomans insisted I stay in the basket and "look cute," more or less on command.

Please... cats do NOT do things "on command." Have they learned nothing at all?

But since they wanted a "show," I managed to wedge my butt in there in such a way that I could start "playing the fiddle" for them.

Eyerolling followed.

CC0142Cleaning.jpg
Pardon me, while I clean my privates...

But here's the thing: It was actually a pretty nice basket. Although a little small for me, it was really a nice snug and rounded cat bed.

So I made myself comfortable and let the Hoomans have their "cute photo."

This was the best one of the lot, which you saw in my post from a few days ago. The Hoomans were pleased, and so was I!

CC0142InBasket.jpg
Final photo, before Halloween graphics were added

And there you have it... because black cats do have special meaning for Halloween!

Hope everyone is having a marvelous day!

=^..^=

(Meets contest rules of 3+ photos/300+ words/requested tagging-title)

Sort:  

Oh my, I so get it! The final outcome was so worth the wait. Cats rule always!

Yeah, we cats are pretty awesome! We just have to be allowed to come to terms with what's going on... on OUR terms!

=^..^=

Oh my gosh, life must be so hard for you. Telling you to look cute - how dare those two legs! Do they at least feed you well and scratch you behind the ears just the right way?

Thanks for the understanding! The Hoomans are pretty good sorts, all in all... so I can't complain too much. They just get a little overzealous now and then...

=^..^=

I love black cats. So pretty!

Thank you! Black cats are the BEST!

=^..^=

your cat has such beautiful eyes! very lovely (=ㅇᆽㅇ=)

Thank you! We black cats often have quite "dramatic" eyes, because they are in such contrast to our dark faces.

=^..^=

Hi @curatorcat,

Thanks so much for partaking in #dailypetphotography! Please follow @dpet for upcoming events.
Our discord channel is up and running, come on over and say hi, lots of avil pet owners are awaiting you there.
https://discord.gg/GYrnsNm

Thanks for your ongoing support of pet photography here on Steemit!

=^..^=

Great entry! We'll try to participate with my wife @bluemyst. Maybe once we carve the pumpkins... Our chihuahua would fit inside but I'm sure he wouldn't enjoy it! ;-)

A chihuahua in a pumpkin? That might make for a cute and unique entry — IF you can make him stay there for the shot!

=^..^=

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28