Would you rather 40k a year tax free for the rest of your life or 1 million (tax free) as a once off payment?

in #dpoll5 years ago (edited)

Would you rather 40k a year tax free for the rest of your life or 1 million as a once off payment?


Screenshot 2019-02-12 at 22.57.52.png


  • 40k a year. Slow and steady.

  • 1 million once. I could be dead next year!

  • Stupid question 1 million . Lambo here I come!

  • 40k a year. If I live more than 25 years I am in profit!!

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for 1 million once. I could be dead next year!.

Some good dividend shares are paying 4-5 percent a year (40-50k) - and the million stays also.

Good point .

Posted using Partiko iOS

Being 75 years old, I would definitely choose the once-off payment of $1m. At least I'd go out with quite a bang!

Thanks, do you need my account details?

Voted for 1 million once. I could be dead next year!.

I'm already old...won't live that long..

I'd say you're some laugh at parties @abbak7 😂😂. Planning the funeral! haha. You're not that bloody old!

Nope,no money saved for funeral..😎

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for 40k a year. Slow and steady..

I answered I would take the $40,000 a year tax free for the rest of my life over the $1 million one time payment because it would be harder to spend it so quickly. You didn't say if the $1 million was tax free (which would be another reason to avoid it if it's not tax free).

As it is, $1 million sounds like a lot, but I hope I can reasonably expect to be around longer than 25 years. This way, I can live within my means, maybe save up some of this money, not have to pay taxes (unless I have some other kind of earned income) and probably still do what I want to do, just not all at once.

A wise choice!

I thought so. Of course, so far your poll is running the other way, so what can I say? :) I always have to be the contrarian.

Always felt like I would be one of those "new money" type of person who would blow everything after a couple of wild months.

So 40k a year would probably be the best bet for me.

Yep I’m the same as you @jclark. Give me the 40k a year.

Voted for Stupid question 1 million . Lambo here I come!.

1 kick ass year!!!

Voted for 1 million once. I could be dead next year!.

A million in the bank would generate enough interest to pay my monthly bills! Will you be sending it out soon?

@melinda010100 . Would you trust yourself leaving 1 million the the bank. I see you buying a state of the art moped thing with it!! 0-60 in 3 seconds! The 40k would pay the bills also.

I would totally trust myself, but you are right. The 40k would be grand, too. A nice addition to my social security check!

Voted for 1 million once. I could be dead next year!.

It really depends on how much the IRS is going to pull off the top.

good I picked the right one haha!

I took the millions, suckers take payments :P

to quote the english 'shameless'
'take what you can, when you can'...and I wouldn't trust another agency with 40k a year, when I could have the mill in my hands..

@lucylin the end is nigh! 😂😂

Don't be a pessimist...the beginning is nigh..!lol

Voted for 1 million once. I could be dead next year!.

If you have $1,000,000 once and you can't figure out how to turn it into at least $40k per year for the rest of your life, you don't deserve it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34