What are your thoughts on the separating of Steemit.com and Steemitwallet.com? [10 STEEM Bounty]

in #dpoll5 years ago (edited)

What are your thoughts on the separating of Steemit.com and Steemitwallet.com? [10 STEEM Bounty]


2019-04-10 23_34_39-Window.png

Recently, Steemit.com was split into Steemit.com and Steemitwallet.com. Not being an active Steemit.com user, I only get to know about this yesterday. Based on the comments, the sentiments are mostly negative. I have my own opinion on this, but before I write an article on this, I will like to hear yours. So please participate in the poll and provide your comments.

A 10 STEEM Bounty will be placed on this post. This is to encourage participation.

Oh and if you are keen to earn some Steem, do check out the content crowdsourcing event that I am running.


  • I did not notice the change

  • I like the idea

  • I hate it

  • It is a love-hate relationship

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

I understand what they are trying to do technically, but I don't understand why the UI has to be screwed up again. Its cool to hide technical improvements behind the frontend. One of the awesomeness of steemit was the integration of the wallet in the website so normal users could just do all in one space.

Also I wish they had told us, so we could have prepared instead of just making all my steemit UI not work anymore.

Lastly instead of just doing these technical things i wish steemit would actually work in bringing functionality that increase utility and makes steem work better for users.

I am glad other teams are driving the development of the blockchain.

Indeed. Splitting into 2 domains seems like an odd decision to me. I am pretty sure they are able to integrate with Steemconnect and provide an experience which is similar to other Steem interfaces. Users will still be prompted each time for their keys when performing sensitive transactions

Posted using Partiko Android

Dear @knircky

To make things worse, they really didn't test it well.

Just go to your own wallet, and then go to "rewards" and open any of links in your "Curation Rewards History". Example:

https://steemitwallet.com/@city-of-berlin/city-of-berlin-1554388659910-city-of-berlin-feat-katefragola-20190404

Why the hell is it trying to redirect to SteemWallet.com? Someone really made a serious mistake :/ And I've no idea how to even let them know, since communication with Steemit Inc and Steemit community doesnt seem to exist (it's more of one way-street).

Yours
Piotr

Voted for

  • I hate it

@culgin has set 10.000 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties are a new way you can earn rewards irrespective of you Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Loading...

Voted for

  • I like the idea

Voted for

I like the idea

Voted for

  • I hate it

Hate is a bit too much but I don't like the change.
It makes steem even more complicated and could prevent people from coming to the steemit plattform.
On the other side they want to improve the security of the wallets, which is a good move.

Indeed. Thanks for the comment

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for

  • I hate it

First of all, I hate it because I am having a very bad experience with it.

Secondly, I hate ads. So, making all these changes, spoiling things and creating a bad user experience because they want to implement ads is not something I can attest to love.

Personally, I am having a hard time because despite saving my login, I always have to login to my wallet (on chrome) and it affects me greatly because I do SBI transactions on daily basis. Sometimes, I have to login twice or more times until transaction suggestions appear for me to just select sbi from the list.

Moreover, making theses changes without prior announcements only relates to what our governments are doing. Increase tax and prices of goods and services at anytime, any day after all they are in charge and there is nothing anyone can do to oppose or go against them.

Thanks for great poll, have nice day! ✌

Thanks for the comment. Just wondering if you have ever tried a different Steem interface (e.g. Steempeak or busy.org)

Posted using Partiko Android

One in a while, I use busy.org to publish my posyt but I have never used steempeak.

When this issue with steemit wallet started, I ran straight to use busy for a wallet transfer but I could not see a way to do the transfer as busy only showed me my wallet details and clicking around yielded nothing.

The good news is that @partiko is working on this feature and once it is released, I may not have to use steemit ever again.

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for

  • It is a love-hate relationship

I like how the wallet has its own website now but hate that there was no prior announcement of the change

Voted for

  • I like the idea

As i understood it, it is for security reasons. So, I guess that is good right. :-)

Yup there is a security reason for this change

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for

  • I like the idea

like it and this is why:

  1. separates wallet from content

  2. wallet is theoretically open source, so other dApps can use the code. modify, in their own apps

  3. gave us all a reminder/learning opportunity for passwords/keys

Thanks for the comment. It is indeed a good way for users to learn about how the various password/keys work

Posted using Partiko Android

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84