If you had an unconditional ground income, would you work?

in #dpoll5 years ago (edited)

If you had an unconditional ground income, would you work?


Finland made an experiment: the state is paying a fixed, unconditional basic income for 2,000 chosen jobless people, expecting they can find better new jobs this way. That are 560 euros (635 USD) per month to people aged between 25 and 58. Bloomberg.com

This amount of money provides only a minimum level of survival in Finland, in a very expensive country. In theory, people wanting to advance in life need to find more rewarding, more profitable jobs. The two-years experiment ends next year but after the first year the results are neutral:

“During the first year of the experiment, the recipients of a basic income were no better or worse than the control group at finding employment in the open labor market”. But at least they had “less stress symptoms”, “less difficulties to concentrate and less health problems” – wrote Bloomberg.
(Photo: Pixabay.com)

If you had an unconditional ground income, would you work?


  • Yes

  • No

  • Only a little bit

  • Only if I like the job

  • Yesss, time to be full-time Steemian!

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for Only if I like the job.

Unconditional basic income is a must

Voted for Yesss, time to be full-time Steemian!.

Voted for Only if I like the job.

Voted for Yes.

I already am doing STEEM full time (my wife has a regular job), so having a ground income would only help my chances of continuing to do that, which I do consider to be work. In an attention economy, many things are and should be considered work.

That said, I'm not that keen on universal basic income. There could be some countries where $635 is a living wage, but there, it's more likely the UBI would be smaller. That's generally how it works. Low cost of living, low wages. How could it ever be high enough without those with money contributing handsomely to it? Most aren't going to do it willingly or voluntarily, which means the governments of the world would have to raise taxes on the rich (and not on earned income, because most really rich people deal with capital gains).

Voted for Only if I like the job.

Voted for Only a little bit.

Voted for Only if I like the job.

I'm currently spending almost my entire day and time on Steem (which is like working) without my earnings being encouraging at all. This is simply because I love it here in the meantime! Hope you get my point.

Voted for Yesss, time to be full-time Steemian!.

It'll be a pleasure to impact lives via my #steem contents and create #crypto wealth

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04