Voice control, motion control what's next?

in #dpoll5 years ago

Voice control, motion control what's next?


23dqobcvdj.png

Part of the magic that will be AR/VR is the integration of audio, video, and motion. What once was a very hit or miss reality (voice recognition) continues to improve. In my last ten years of scanning, converting and speaking I can say now that the reality of voice control, voice conversion, and audio to text has continued to improve. The long-promised audio and video search, still a ways off. When I first played with the voice-activated speakers, I found the Microsoft Cortana product as the best. Since then, the Google Home and the Amazon Alexa products have begun to lap Cortana. In part because they followed the split rule, or what I call the new software and hardware rule.
Once upon a time, Microsoft was expensive software on cheap hardware. Alexa and Google Home have arrived on free software and cheap hardware. The thing that is for me, the most interesting is the spread. Alexa launched around four years ago. From the speaker launch to the addition of video and now the addition of a car system Alexa has exploded. The Google Home following right behind Alexa. The two have focused n integration. I can ask my Google Home to connect to my Fing internet security system and shut the internet at my house. Why would you do that? Well if you know someone has hacked a computer at your house, it behooves you to shut off that router.

I guess the interesting this is the integration of motion now. Leap was an early company in the world of motion integration. There are some other players, but Leap ships with the new AR monitor. The AR monitor allows you to connect to your computer or laptop and have an augmented reality display for your laptop or PC. The leap motion controller allows you to integrate motion into that experience. Oculus, both the Rift and Go headsets, include the gyroscopic controllers. The Sony PS4 VR system also includes motion-sensitive controllers. The amazing changes continue to roll in! The concept of moving, seeing and interacting with the world on multiple levels remains beyond interesting.

I am looking forward to a brave new world!

Would you use voice control in a crowded subway car?


  • Yes

  • No

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for

  • No

I say no, simply because depending on the ambient noise and what I was trying to attempt, voice control might not be the most efficient, and certainly not the most private way to go about something. Which means time and security would probably be an issue.

At present, Amazon echoes aren't that portable, and they're primarily built as stationary devices for rooms that might have some cross talk and a television on, but where the noise can be minimized long enough to get a command out. In a busy subway, without a headset or some other means of noise cancelling, the echo or other device might not even understand what you said, or would pick up way too many other voices.

I've not tried Siri in a crowded place to see how well it might do, but I don't have anything it can control aside from what I might be able to do on my iPhone, and I'm not likely to use my iPhone to set that up.

Voted for

  • No

Thanks for contributing to the dPoll content.

You have been upvoted from our community curation account (@dpoll.curation) in courtesy of This Guy... @bluerobo.

Come, join our community at dPoll discord server.


If you want to support dPoll curation, you can also delegate some steem power. Quick steem connect links to delegate:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP

Voted for

  • No

Voted for

  • No

Voted for

  • No

Voted for

  • No

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00