Can the HF 21 Proposed Economic changes bring about better, more honest curation?

in #dpoll5 years ago

Can the HF 21 Proposed Economic changes bring about better, more honest curation?


It is not a secret that Steem's economy is broken at the moment. Countless users partake in nepotism, favoritism, circle jerkism and many other shameful and outright malicious strategies in order to increase their earnings on here, and it's taking a toll on the entire platform. In fact, this short-term profit-maximizing mentality many indulge in is cutting short the long-term potential and success of the Steem blockchain.

There is no denying that.



source

With this in mind, Stinc proposed some economic changes which are geared towards shifting the paradigm from abusing to genuinely curating what is in your opinion the most high-quality content.

This will be achieved through:

  • increasing curation rewards from 25% to 50% (yes, yes and yes! If we want more people to honestly curate then curation rewards should be as high as possible to disincentivize vote-selling and delegating to bidbots)

  • changing linear curve to convergent linear (terrible idea imo because a lot of minnows will be hurt because of this)

  • creating a separate downvote pool -> basically gifting each user a couple of free downvotes per day (I hope this dreadful idea doesn't come to life because I have a feeling it's going to cause a shitstorm of unmeasurable proportions)

Read more in the official post by @steemitblog

While the proposed changes may prove to be steps in the right direction, I don't think they can completely fix the fundamental issues Steem faces on a daily basis. It might temporarily alleviate some of them, imo it will not be able fix them.

But that doesn't matter. What matters though is what our collective intelligence will conclude.

So let us know what you think.

runi reveal.gif


  • Yes! Curation will improve.

  • No! Users will adapt to the changes and find new ways to keep abusing.

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for

  • No! Users will adapt to the changes and find new ways to keep abusing.

The problem is not with the Steem blockchain nor with the reward distribtuion percentage.
The problem is with the people. With the (behavior of) Steem users.
95% (or more) of the people care only about their own content.
People are selfish and greedy.
I am trying on Steem for more than two years (since 2017.05.17), and no matter what I post, what I write about, what I do, almost no one cares about my posts.
I am earning cents (or nothing at all) with my posts and with my comments, and I can hardly even reach the Minnow status.
I become less active on Steem nowadays.
I did not posted anything for 12 days. Except some comments.
I posted a poll today (2019.06.11) and yesterday (2019.06.10), but the last time I posted a poll was on 2019.05.30.
Nowadays I don't even use Steemit for blogging.
In fact, I am Powering Down on Steem.
I planned to (and done) Power Up in the past, but I realized that it is a time wasting.
Maybe I will stop the power down, but not likely.
Putting hours of work into Steem posts/comments feels like time and effort wasting.
I will put my time, work and effort into somewhere else, where they are appreciated.

Voted for

  • No! Users will adapt to the changes and find new ways to keep abusing.

increasing curation rewards from 25% to 50% (yes, yes and yes! If we want more people to honestly curate then curation rewards should be as high as possible to disincentivize vote-selling and delegating to bidbots)

I think you bad economist. Sell your vote is much easy than live's curation.It's good if author's reward will be decreased on 33%? No idea how it can be compensated.

changing linear curve to convergent linear (terrible idea imo because a lot of minnows will be hurt because of this)

Every author will be hurted who don't buying votes.

creating a separate downvote pool -> basically gifting each user a couple of free downvotes per day (I hope this dreadful idea doesn't come to life because I have a feeling it's going to cause a shitstorm of unmeasurable proportions)

How to rule steem without good power flags? we can't control steem economy because we haven't effective mechanism. I won't flag spam because flagging don't give me any benefit but doing spammer angrier. Who need problems with current system as steem has?

Voted for

  • No! Users will adapt to the changes and find new ways to keep abusing.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Voted for

  • No! Users will adapt to the changes and find new ways to keep abusing.

Voted for

  • No! Users will adapt to the changes and find new ways to keep abusing.

I stopped curating because there is no predictable and steady reward for my time spent reading and evaluating content. The curation reward algo itself is the problem, not the percentages between content creators and curators!

Hi @runicar!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.232 which ranks you at #884 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 173 contributions, your post is ranked at #15.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Voted for

  • No! Users will adapt to the changes and find new ways to keep abusing.

Yes, we need to improve the economic model!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27