Dear Steem Community, could a decentralized community regulated account be the next step needed towards a better Steem?

in #dpoll5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Dear Steem Community, could a decentralized community regulated account be the next step needed towards a better Steem?


Dear reader - Steem has been renamed to Hive since May 2020. My content therefore has moved with me to Hive, and I hope to see you there: peakd.com/@soyrosa.

Sort:  

This story was recommended by Steeve to its users and upvoted by one or more of them.

Check @steeveapp to learn more about Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface.

Voted for Yes.

Voted for Yes.

Voted for No.

Decentralized community regulated account

There is a contradiction here. I think we have enough so-called 'community initiatives' that are just now abusing their power in so many ways because, at the end of the day, the one who controls the key is the one who controls the flux of information.

everything posted on the account should be with ‘a better Steem’ in mind

I think no one should be entitled to define what is right or not, this idea implies the possibility of censorship.

I also think that we can't centralize that much power and decision-making process, in just one account. People will abuse that power eventually, As they already do by using some bureaucratic-like-abuse strategies. We need to be realistic.

I am with the idea presented by @therealwolf, I prefer an interface/platform where everyone can publish his ideas, publicly or anonymously. If built in the right way, the interface/platform should offer most of the things that you suggested, but in a non-centralized-way.

If the whole idea is going to involve money, then this is just a waste of time.

Thank you, @soyrosa.

Thanks for voting and adding your notes @dr-frankenstein!

at the end of the day, the one who controls the key is the one who controls the flux of information.

I understand your worries, a way to lower these risks could be to share the account keys with a selection of trusted Steemians selected by the community. Would that help in your opinion?

I think no one should be entitled to define what is right or not, this idea implies the possibility of censorship.

Here I didn't mean to imply any kind of bias/selection, if someone believes his/her idea would help Steem it should be presented to the community in my view.

I prefer an interface/platform where everyone can publish his ideas, publicly or anonymously.

I'd love this too but I also believe technology should follow experimentation/observation of human behaviour. The idea presented in my post could serve as a first draft/playing ground from where we can start to really understand how this interface should work and look like.

Thanks again for your input! :-)

Good first step.

Posted using Partiko Android

Is there a way/Is there a tool to do this as far as you know @wehmoen?

I guess there are more tools. Have seen some recently.

I guess this is now possible @wehmoen, thanks to @crokkon (post) via @timcliff's bounty :D

Voted for Yes.

Voted for Yes.

Thanks for using dpoll!

It worked great! Really happy I could use it to collect this vote instead of counting comments or guessing if the contents of a comment meant 'yes' or 'no' :-)

Voted for Yes.

I would prefer it to be a forum like interface so that we can all engage and discuss as we often do during the SOS forums on Discord. I believe I saw @therealwolf develop something like this so the wheel may be already invented.

Voted for Yes.

It seems quite practical, and I currently have no qualms about the formation of such a thing. I wonder if in hindsight, that will hold. If anything, it seems like the right move especially with the amount of activism for Steemit we rally on our own. If we aimed our efforts at this idea, I think the implications are indeed favorable.

Voted for Yes.

Goes in the right direction. However, I feel a shared understanding of what "a better steem" means is a prerequisite

Thanks for voting @sorin.cristescu! That shared understanding could very well be the first thing being discussed before we start doing anything else.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63594.33
ETH 3039.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10