Have You Ever Wondered If You'd Die In Your Sleep?

in #dpoll5 years ago

Have You Ever Wondered If You'd Die In Your Sleep?


I was initially hesitant to even ask this question on dpoll because this is the kind of question that can affect your life more and more hen you think about it more and more. It's kind of like Roko's basiliskk. The moment you tart thinking about it, you loose. For those who don't know; Roko's basilisk is kindof a gown up and messehttps://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Game_(mind_game)d up trauma inducing version of "[The Game](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Game_(mind_game)"

Article About Roko's Basilisk

Who are most affected by the idea/thought experiment are some of the smartest people on Earth. you could make the argument that they are not the wisest. But still they are way ahead the rest of the masses. It seems ignorance is bliss. Maybe there is a hell between the point of ignorance and the point of enlightenment. Maybe we just have to take a leap of faith and look at things in an Anti-Nihilist light and ad make our own meaning in the universe


  • Yes, I've Thought That Many Times

  • Only Once And It Felt Terrible

  • No, Never

  • I Prefer Not To Think About These Things

  • I Actually Needed Psychiatric Help After thinking Of Those tings

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for

  • I Prefer Not To Think About These Things

Voted for

  • Yes, I've Thought That Many Times

Death is a strange and interesting topic to me. It is, quite literally, the one thing that always happens, effects everyone, is inescapable, and has been around for as long as we have.

And yet, we treat it as a taboo. Don't talk about it! Don't mention it! Don't discuss it!
Why not? Shouldn't we talk about it? Wouldn't that makes us more comfortable with it? I would argue being comfortable with death is something we all need, considering the points I made above.

If you can't escape it, embrace it [ as in, freely discuss and think about it. I'm not telling anyone to jump off the nearest bridge or anything like that lol ].

Voted for

  • Yes, I've Thought That Many Times

Actually, I'm not sure how to answer this question. I've thought about dying in my sleep. in fact, I've wondered about dying in an assortment of ways. So far, none of them have happened, and really, I don't think any of them would effect the true cause of death anyway, even if i were to dwell on any, which I can't say that I do.

i don't believe it's over when we die, so that's not really my mindset, but I have thought about the potential for being wrong, and in the end, it only matters if there is something after this life. If there's nothing, then not much of what I did here matters. If there is something after this life, then everything could hinge on what I do here. Either way, I'm safe if I live the way I believe is best.

I'm not sure any of that is worth losing your mind over. :) Or maybe I'm just blissfully ignorant after all, which actually would be fine by me, too. :)

If there's nothing, then not much of what I did here matters.

That is actually not correct.
Everything you do or don't do, say or don't say means something. You are a drop in the great ocean of consciousness and every culture changes on the basis of its mixture of individual drops that change as a result. Something old remains, something new is added. The sum of all parts is always something different than the individual.
I don't believe that a single consciousness will survive in my usual identification. Something will certainly survive of which it is unclear what it will be. I will probably never exist again.

Happy Easter, Erika, and anyone else who reads this and finds joy in the holiday :)

Happy Easter to you, too, dear friend!
We have already wonderful holidays, beautiful weather and a relaxed family time.
All the best for your family.

hey, @erh.germany.

I suppose it's true that there is some effect I will leave behind for my children, posterity, folks who actually knew me, etc. I was thinking more of whether or not it gets me anywhere in a next life.

However, if there is no such thing, just a communal consciousness of which I have little more than a drop effect, I'm not sure just how much myself as an individual will matter, and maybe that's the point. If it's all one entity, then individuality isn't that important, whether the whole has changed slightly or not.

In my case, I believe we're currently made up of an eternal spirit and a mortal body. The body dies, the spirit lives on, until it can reunited with the body again, only this time, in a state of immortality.

I guess it's fitting that we're having this discussion on Easter weekend.

At any rate, it seems to me, in either scenario, it seems to me, something is continuing, whether it be part of one massive whole, or a distinct individual. If there is nothing, not even that, then we poof in and poof out and this life is all that truly matters.

Oh, I think you can see that this life is all that really matters. Since I cannot rely on what will happen after my death, it is good to pretend that there is no transition of a concrete soul into a new body. Buddhists compare consciousness to a flame that passes from one candle to another. But for them it is not an identifiable consciousness belonging to the previous body.

I would also not value the drop small, because what would an ocean be without its individual drops?

True, having this conversation at Easter fits the biblical metaphor of Jesus' resurrection.

In any case, I wish you and your children and your family beautiful Easter from Germany!

Voted for

  • I Prefer Not To Think About These Things

Voted for

  • I Prefer Not To Think About These Things

Voted for

  • No, Never

Voted for

  • I Prefer Not To Think About These Things

Voted for

  • Yes, I've Thought That Many Times

Voted for

  • I Prefer Not To Think About These Things

Voted for

  • Yes, I've Thought That Many Times

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63722.47
ETH 3049.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.03