[Reposted/Fixed] Are you an active Steem Monsters player? Have you invested any money into Steem Monsters? (Plus my two advices for the developers of Steem Monsters)

in #dpoll5 years ago

[Reposted/Fixed] Are you an active Steem Monsters player? Have you invested any money into Steem Monsters? (Plus my two advices for the developers of Steem Monsters)


Today (2019.05.13) I posted a poll on a dPoll, but after I tried to edit it (to fix a type in one of the answers, which I noticed) after posting, the poll is just disappeared from dPoll, giving a 404 error. Now I try to post it again.
Hopefully the poll will work properly this time.

Steem Monsters
Image source: https://steemmonsters.com.

To be honest, I am currently disappointed in Steem Monsters.
Both as an investment opportunity, and both as a game.
I am writing this with more than 5 months of Steem Monsters gameplay experience.
But I have two advices for the developers below (at the end of this post) to make the gameplay good, fair, fun and enjoyable for everyone.

Why I don't like the investing part of Steem Monsters?

I bought the Steem Monsters Beta Starter Set on 2018.12.30 for 36.408 (32.767) Steem.
As of 2019.05.13, 14:21 CEST, I invested 37.083 Steem and $0.196 SBD into the game, and I received 6.544 Steem, 3.641 vested Steem and $0.276 SBD.
This currently means -26.898 Steem loss, and $0.080 SBD profit.
1 Steem is currently (2019.05.13, 14:42 CEST) worth $0.326802 USD
My current card collection is worth $9.42 USD, so if I would sell all of my Steem Monsters cards right now, then that would sell for 28.824 Steem (assuming that all of my Steem Monsters cards would be bought with Steem), and I would be only in 1.926 Steem profit.
And I am talking about selling all of my Steem Monsters cards, so I would not be able to play the game after that.
And this is after more than 5 (and approximately a half) months of playing.
I would probably have earned more money by playing CS:GO, and getting (and selling) drops.

Why I don't like the gameplay part of Steem Monsters?

The game is often giving me opponents, who have much stronger cards.
I mean I have only level 1 summoner cards, and the opponents often have level 3, 4 or even level 5 cards, where my cards (obviously) don't even stand a change against them.
I leveled up some of my monster cards, but I still can't use them, because I would need to level up the summoners as well in order to use the leveled up monster cards in battles. This makes Steem Monsters as a massive pay-to-win game.
So I think that Steem Monsters is a very bad investment opportunity, and a very bad pay-to-win game as well.
In case you don't know, leveling up monster and summoner cards are done by combining multiple cards of the same monster/summoner together.
So you need to buy the same monster and summoner card multiple times to do this.
You need to combine 3 monster cards together to make a level 2 monster.
You need to combine 3 summoner cards together to make a level 2 summoner.
This can be quite expensive, depending on the type (and other factors) of the card.
Summoner cards are (generally) more expensive than monster cards.
You can also earn summoners in the daily and in the season end rewards, but the chance for that is very low.
I earned only one summoner (Daria Dragonscale) (an Epic Dragon Summoner) during more than 5 months of playing.
The gameplay itself would be good, but this pay-to-win concept is ruining the whole game. Or at least the fun and the entertainment. The enjoyability of the game. Simply makes the game unfair.
Players, who don't - either can't (not able/unable to) or don't want to - invest money into the game, are in great disadvantage.
Based on the current state of Steem Monsters, I regret putting money into this game.
My current advice is to avoid Steem Monsters, if you can.

My two suggestions for the developers of Steem Monsters are the following:

  1. I think that if you (as a player) have only level 1 summoner cards, then the game should not bring players with level 3-4-5 cards against you. Nor summoners, nor monsters. As long as you are able to use only level 1 summoners and level 1 monsters, battling against level 3-4-5 cards are unfair, because your cards don't even have the chance against them.
  2. I think that the players should be able to use leveled up monsters in battles without leveled up summoners, and leveling up summoners should also give bonus(es) to the summoners itself. For example less mana cost, better and/or more abilities, and so on. This would encourage summoner leveling up, while it would not make Steem Monsters a massive pay-to-win game.
    If they would make these changes, then at least the gameplay would be fair, more fun and more enjoyable.

The above is my honest opinion (and my two suggestions) about Steem Monsters.

What about you? Are you an active Steem Monsters player? Have you invested any money into Steem Monsters?


  • I am an active player, and I am investing money into the game.

  • I am an active player, and I am investing (or invested) money into the game, but I (starting/started to) (or already) regret it.

  • I am an active player, but (other than the Starter Set) I am not invested money into the game so far.

  • I am an active player, but I have not invested money into the game so far. Not even the Starter Set, because I received that for free. But maybe/probably I will invest in the game later.

  • I am an active player, but based on your opinion in the post above, I am happy/glad that I have not invested any money into Steem Monsters so far.

  • I am not an active player, but I am actively trading (buying and selling) cards.

  • I am not an active player, but I am actively trading (buying and selling) (and/or collecting) cards, and I am waiting for the introduction of the official in-game delegation (lease) market.

  • I am not an active player, and based on your opinion in the post above, I am happy/glad that I have not invested any money into Steem Monsters so far.

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

I just wanted to let you know that there is now a 32bit Gridcoin installer available on https://gridcoin.us/.
Hope you don't mind I post it here =)

Thank you, but @roboticmind already notified me about it, and I already installed the 32-bit Gridcoin wallet.

Voted for

  • I am an active player, and I am investing money into the game.

The game is marketed as a collectable trading card game. The developers of the game want people to buy more cards, as that is the whole point of it it. I do not think this is a bad thing, and I think that people who want to play free games can easily find free games to play.

I also think that the limitations on cards based on current league status are already good enough to protect players. People who don't want to invest money into more cards can still play, but they should probably understand and accept that they will not make it much past the Bronze or perhaps Silver leagues. Bronze is possible without further investment, but Silver would be difficult. I don't think is necessarily a bad thing, it's just reality.

As far as the investment goes, the game is still young, and it's still growing. To expect to buy a few cards and have it gain a bunch of value in a short amount of time is probably expecting too much. Assuming that the game will continue to grow, I expect the value of my cards to increase over the span of years, not weeks or months.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Xplosive from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Voted for

  • I am an active player, and I am investing money into the game.

Voted for

  • I am not an active player, and based on your opinion in the post above, I am happy/glad that I have not invested any money into Steem Monsters so far.

You made two posts, you wrote your opinion, and also a poll. I similar cases, I usually make a post (article), and a poll, and I link each other. (Make the post first because you can't modify the poll afterwards.)

Voted for

  • I am not an active player, but I am actively trading (buying and selling) cards.

Voted for

  • I am an active player, but (other than the Starter Set) I am not invested money into the game so far.

I have invested 4 or 5 USD in the game past the starter set, but that was it.

I don't think that Splinterlands is "pay-to-play" as much as it is "grind-to-play"

By this, I mean as a starting player you may have to face loss after loss to make your daily quest...or even to hit a winning streak that moves you up to a better rewards bracket.

Like you, I am often matched against players that are ranked 200-300 points higher than me, but I have had days in which I ran streaks of playing ranks 200-300 lower than I was...once this resulted in my moving into the Silver I bracket, which has a much higher card reward

I think you have to look at Splinterlands as an investment in:
time
hope

Good luck!

Voted for

  • I am not an active player, and based on your opinion in the post above, I am happy/glad that I have not invested any money into Steem Monsters so far.

Voted for

  • I am not an active player, and based on your opinion in the post above, I am happy/glad that I have not invested any money into Steem Monsters so far.

Voted for

  • I am an active player, but (other than the Starter Set) I am not invested money into the game so far.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62480.78
ETH 3045.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91