What is your approach towards gene-edited human babies?

in #dpoll5 years ago

What is your approach towards gene-edited human babies?


The untold story of the ‘circle of trust’ behind the world’s first gene-edited babies.

0802_Crispr_JK_1280x720.jpg
He Jiankui, at a question-and-answer session after presenting his embryo-editing work in November 2018, has not spoken publicly since then.
Photo taken by: ANTHONY KWAN/BLOOMBERG/GETTY IMAGES.
Image source: https://www.sciencemag.org.

ma_0802_Crispr_humanembryo_PF1_700p.jpg
One of He Jiankui's colleagues works with a human embryo.
Photo taken by MARK SCHIEFELBEIN/AP PHOTO.
Image source: https://www.sciencemag.org.

60% of the people in China are supporting gene-edited babies in the cause to make protection against certain diseases, or make make immunity, but this is a very dividing topic worldwide.

According to the statement of the WHO (World Health Organization) expert advisory committee, the human genome-editing is an "irresponsibility" at this time.

Some (or many?) people describe the Chinese scientist (He Jiankui) as a "rogue scientist".
What do you think about gene-edited human babies?


  • There is nothing wrong with genetically edited/modified human babies. Maybe this will even solve one or more health problems of mankind. I support it.

  • I have one or more questions/concerns about it, but I generally support it.

  • I have one or more questions/concerns about it, and I generally don't support it.

  • I have a lot of questions/concerns about it, but I generally support it.

  • I have a lot of questions/concerns about it, and I generally don't support it.

  • Humans should NOT edit/modify humans genetically at all. This is dangerous and could have serious consequences, so I don't support it at all.

  • I don't care about it.

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for

  • I have a lot of questions/concerns about it, and I generally don't support it.

Voted for

  • I have a lot of questions/concerns about it, but I generally support it.

Voted for

  • I have one or more questions/concerns about it, but I generally support it.

Voted for

  • There is nothing wrong with genetically edited/modified human babies. Maybe this will even solve one or more health problems of mankind. I support it.

Voted for

  • Humans should NOT edit/modify humans genetically at all. This is dangerous and could have serious consequences, so I don't support it at all.

Voted for

  • Humans should NOT edit/modify humans genetically at all. This is dangerous and could have serious consequences, so I don't support it at all.

Voted for

  • I have one or more questions/concerns about it, and I generally don't support it.

But it will happen even if we don't like it..

Voted for

  • Humans should NOT edit/modify humans genetically at all. This is dangerous and could have serious consequences, so I don't support it at all.

Voted for

  • There is nothing wrong with genetically edited/modified human babies. Maybe this will even solve one or more health problems of mankind. I support it.

Voted for

  • I have a lot of questions/concerns about it, and I generally don't support it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86