Your favorite flowers - Differences between the Gouache and Watercolor

in #drawing5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190530_132259.jpg

This post was inspired basically with the intention of trying some materials that had been saved for a while, these were the Gouache, I bought the Gouache in 2016 for my drawing course since I was going to start working with the watercolor technique, it happens that I did not get anywhere Economic and good brand watercolors, meanwhile I found these Gouache where in the store they told me they were practically equal to Watercolors, the box had 12 colors, in tubes and also two brushes, it was a good price and I practically had what I needed, so I ended up buying them.

When I go to the course I take the Gouache and some old Watercolors that I had in my house that I did not use since I was in elementary school, the teacher sees the Gouache and says "We are not going to work with these because they are not Watercolors, work with the others" ... really at the time I did not understand what was the difference between both materials, regardless of whether the teacher explained the differences, I saw the same thing, they used almost the same and they worked the same way ... It was my first mistake, I realized that are not the same when these days I wanted to try the Gouache, since 2016 that I had bought them I had not used them until these days, that to make the test I wanted to make a small and basic drawing without much detail, I decided to paint some flowers.

I had always had the doubt of why they said that Gouache and Watercolors were not the same, and no matter how many times I asked different artists or artists I still did not understand it at all, in order to find a clear difference I had to go to practice, use both materials, experience and from there draw my own conclusions. Before going with the differences, I will show you step by step how I was doing this little drawing, which I must admit that I feel very proud of myself because this little drawing I can do in less than a day, which I do not do very often but good "Practice makes a master".

The materials that we use for this drawing are the following:

  • Gouache Royal & Langnickel
  • Modigliani Cardboard
    (Measures: 26.5x16 cm)
  • Brushes (No. 10 and 5)
  • Palette to mix
  • Scotch tape
  • 4H pencil and eraser
  • Clipboard
  • A glass and piece of cloth
  • Water

I started by placing the cardboard over the clipboard, sticking it with the adhesive tape, so we avoid the cardboard moving or bending in the process, the detail of these techniques that are watered down is that if you make a mistake there is no way to correct it, then I started I made the sketch of the flowers on the cardboard with the 4H pencil, the flowers I had taken from an image I found on Pinterest, I just changed the colors a bit and gave it my personal touch.

When I was preparing the Gouache, when I was new I had to uncover them, when I took the blue color, the paint did not want to leave and there was something that blocked the painting, it turned out that there was dry paint in the hole, so I started scraping a little , I did not expect the paint to fly away or explode like a volcano staining everything in its path, in that it fell a bit on the cardboard, take a little water to dilute the color a bit, as I said it is difficult to correct the error in these techniques but it is easy to cover them.


With a light blue mixed with a lot of water, and apply this color to the background of the flowers using the brushes, I did not want the background to be completely white. Then prepare three different shades of green mixing colors like yellow, dark and light green, brown, white and beige, one very light, one light, very dark and a touch of black for the details of shadows, I started applying the very clear and that before starting with the dark shades and finding the details we should have a base color on the area where we are going to work.


After having covered the blue spot and giving shades and light in the leaves, go to prepare three shades of orange for the petals of the flower to mix the following colors such as orange, white, blue, black and brown , the three tonalities were equal between one very clear as a base, another clear and a very dark one.


You have to take into account that to apply the color, you should apply a little where the area is darker and followed by that with that little scatter, how to fade, if it is too dark the mixture can always use water to dilute a little . As a final step, the signature.

IMG_20190530_025653.jpg


Now we go to see...

Differences between the Gouache and Watercolor

To begin with, the watercolors I use are these, they are not of any specific brand and I bought them a long time ago in a bookstore, practically the one used by children. I noticed that the watercolor is totally lighter and provides a high degree of luminosity, that is, to reach a very clear tonality you do not need to mix the colors with the white, with touches of water you can get to the clear tone.

As for example this other work that I am doing but with Watercolors, this sky and part of the mountains have that degree or effect of luminosity thanks to small able water. It looks light and fresh, achieving that touch of light input that the sky has.

On the other hand, the Gouache, are more pasty, could be compared with the oil since it can offer a similar aesthetic result. To reach the degrees of brightness or light tones it is necessary to mix the colors with white.

For example, when you apply the base layer on the petals of the flowers you could see a pink hue but it was actually orange mixed with white, and to get to that tonality I had to mix the white several times because with the water it was not diluted the color, between so much mixture can lose the color or the tonality wished for that reason it is necessary to be attentive. To dilute the colors could not do it simply with water as it is in the case of Watercolor.

In summary, I can say that the main difference between the Gouache and the Watercolor is that the Watercolor is more transparent while the Gouache is more solid, with this I do not mean that the Gouache are bad, but that they are another technique in this world of art, which can be confused with watercolor ... maybe, but as I could observe it is not equal to watercolor, it has its own way of working it. I suggest that if you are going to work with Gouache, be with ideas or references that lack luminosity, that there are more shadows or the colors are of very great contrast, because if you use them otherwise it can be a little difficulty.

Those who read me welcome my words and we can know more in the next post. Thank you so much!
logo aless.png
Photos of my authorship with a Hyundai E551lite
Instagram ǀ Facebook ǀ Twitter ǀ Patreon

I invite you to join a project in conjunction with @vivianka where you can observe photographic nudes with a touch of yoga, just for a monthly subscription on our Patreon page.

Sort:  

Wow loved it both ways, although I cannot figure out the difference here - no artists knowledge here. But I honestly like it.Since now you have made it, what do you do with your drawing? Frame it? sell it? or maybe just keep it?

The other day I was in a big mall here, one of the artists had put his work for sale, I totally loved the painting, they were on white and white frame, They were expensive but so damn lovely. I wanted to buy it but dont have a dark colored wall in my home, I am still thinking about that painting, I might just go back and buy it.

If there was something like yours in a frame, would have loved to hang it in my home.

As I always say "every day we learn something new", and if you have any doubts about this post you can ask with confidence, we are here to support us all <3. Most of my drawings I have saved, one framed and I really want to start selling them, I hope soon to have several jobs I can sell.

I imagine that the work of that artist was a marvel that you were delighted with, I hope you can buy it and when it is so share it with us in Steemit: D.

Finally ... your comment "If there was something like yours in a frame, I would have loved to hang it in my home." I am filled with so much happiness, it is motivating for me, if you like and you agree I can sell you one of my drawings, the only detail is that I am from Venezuela. If you like the idea you can contact me on my Instagram, you would be the first person to sell you a drawing of mine: D <3 would be a reality. Thank you for your great and beautiful comment, thanks for so much support to the art.

Oh I am happy that you like my comment :) my new house is in construction, I will contact you on instagram :):)

You are so amazing and positive, good vibes to you :)

Thank you very much, good vibes is what is needed <3

Hi alesstorrb,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you for showing us the difference between the watercolor and gouache. I have heard about gouache just a few weeks ago for the first time (I am not an artist) and I was too lazy to google it so I had no idea :)

Your painting is beautiful! I love these flowers.. especially now you can see them everywhere along the road. It makes driving much nicer than it actually is :)

Thank you for sharing and have a lovely day!

Thank you very much for commenting and I hope that my publication has been of great help to clarify your doubts regarding this issue :D

hi @alesstorrb
I really like your design! the colors are beautiful in both versions. I don't paint so it's hard for me to understand the difference! in the end, which do you prefer? I love to see all the steps of your work is a bit like being in your hands !! :-))
congratulations on the curie vote and thanks for sharing with us

Really thanks for nice comment! 💕 As you read I could not see the difference until I wanted to go to practice, with this experience I realize that in the art world that if two artists do the same drawing, they will look the same but the brushstrokes and materials will not, that's why When you see these materials you think they are the same but when working them it is not, it is the real work that the spectators do not see. Answering your question of which one I prefer? ... It's a bit difficult and as I said that depends on the drawing I do, I think and I'm still not sure I prefer the Watercolors, right now I think of several drawings that I can do with the Gouache 😂💪 😍💕

Congratulations @alesstorrb! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

muy buena tecnica y bonito resultado, bien hecho.

Muchas gracias por tu comentario 💕😍🎨

Hermosos dibujos

Muchas gracias Julian 💕💕

So finally you and me both know now, the difference between Watercolor and Gouache! 😄

I guess, this will be your one of the most memorable experiment. And now it'll be mine of course.

The drawing is fab and I enjoyed the whole process! 👌@alesstorrb

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much, I'm glad you liked it. I hope to bring more similar posts :D

Hello there @alesstorrb!

Beautiful artwork! You had made tjat flower blossom even more.

Thank you for bringing your curiosity to test. You had somehow proven the difference of between using gouache and watercolor. Sometimes we need to experience it ourselves to realize things abd of course to know which is better.

Cheers on your curie love! ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much for your comment! indeed there are times that we must leave our comfort zone to learn new things. Thanks to this I now know more about this technique and I will use it more often 💕💪

Oh it was nothing.. but you are right getting out of our comfort zone a d trying out new things brings new experiences.. and who knows the changes will make us be better!

Hello @alesstorrb. I'm not an expert, far from it, and I've only worked with watercolor. however, the result is wonderful, those poppies are fantastic, I would like them on my wall in a nice frame. Poppies were always my favorite and these colors are carefully chosen to make the whole composition enjoyable. You're really talented. Well done.

Thank you very much for your comment, I hope that I draw has fulfilled your high expectations since they are your favorite flowers. I hope soon to frame it <3

No worries, you did an excellent job 😀

My pleasure 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06