Natural Predator, Nature's Prey (original poem)

in #drawing6 years ago

I wrote this the other day when I was on Orcas Island for Imagine Festival. It was rainy all weekend, which gave me the perfect excuse to justify (to myself) staying in tent and writing, drawing, and reading. I could hear the music from the stage in the distance, and let it roll through my head, a steady pulse to accompany my damp heart.

I'll also include my drawings. I call this one Tree of Sight.

tree-of-sight.jpg

First, suckle
lips puckered.
Then fly away
to find another.

Mosquito lands
full from red juice
tired of hot sun
and a lifetime of buzzing
from one blood source
to the next.
Each swats
when they see or feel the needle
puncture their skin,
drawing their blood.

None wonder,
if this is
a sacred act.

Natural predator, nature's prey.
Mosquito's landed feet
now stuck in Spider's web,
who bounces, spring in step.
Soon Mosquito will be the feast.
It's blood stew for Spider tonight,
from her gracious dinner guest comes
sweet nectar collected from all near mammals.
Blood together, they are One.

Spider suckles now, lips puckered.
Then she respins her web,
to begin the cycle again.

mosq.spid.jpg



I post my original poetry, love letters, articles, paintings, photographs,
and whatever else I feel like on steemit @em-blem
Follow & upvote if you like.

Sort:  

@em-blem, I gave you a vote!
If you follow me, I will also follow you in return!
Enjoy some !popcorn courtesy of @nextgencrypto!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72