Drawing and Painting Family Portrait + Step-by-step

in #drawing6 years ago

Hello lovely steemians! Been a long time without updating my blog due to work, but today I'm back with a new step-by-step, this time with a lovely family portrait that was commissioned to me.

tamara1.jpg

This portrait was a fun work to make. It took a great amount of time to complete since it is a more detailed work compared to the rest of designs and drawings I usually make. The most important thing for me this time was to capture the essence of this family. Also, I've got the chance to use more airbrush pens that are included in the default brush presets of Procreate and I'm really amazed of how easy and useful they are! This brushes where used for the skin primarily and also for the clothes.

Digital Art. Tools: Procreate, iPad Pro

First is the sketch.
IMG_0597.JPG
As you can see my sketch work is a bit messy, reason is that in blue I make the free style sketching by just observing the reference pictures or live models. When I see something off when finished, I try to correct in red. Also, sometimes I ask for feedback from my boyfriend who's a teacher in anatomy (i'm his perpetual student haha) and sometimes I use the same layer to practice a bit the stroking with gray before starting the line art.

Second, is the line art
IMG_0598.JPG
My most favorite part is to make the line art, for this I always try to use a G-Pen style of inking pen. I like how it finishes with a texture, really makes it like a real inking with bold black.

Third, is the coloring
IMG_0600.JPG
For the coloring, a summerly like palette was asked for. So I chose very clear and soft colors as for the base. Filling the color is made with a basic brush without transparencies or effects so in one stroke helps me to fill up the base. As explained above, I used airbrushes to make the skin less flat and more natural, was a big change for me because I tend to paint mainly in a cell shading style.

At the end, a few extra details where added in a layer above the rest which helped me to add more dimension and also effects. Also, the family name was added and colored.

Hope you have liked my art.

Please remember to upvote or comment if you like my content, this will help me to grow and study my theme choices for making quality content.


Follow my Social Media

Art Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/gabeecos/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/GabeeCarreraArts/
Tumblr: http://gabeecarmon.tumblr.com/

Sort:  

i love this, @gabeecm ! so lovely ! the lineart is nice and clean, the colours are solid and the expressions of each character is very nicely done :> happy and bright :>

the step by step is also really well done ! i reaaaaaaally like the inked version so much ! :D

very good work !!!

thank you @veryspider inking is my favorite part when making a drawing. Actually, most of my commissioned work are inks, so I mostly offer them. <3

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gabeecm from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Wow, the proportions are perfect and it feels like an animated serie of tv, i love it. You are so talented, i'm following you <3

thank you @aidarojaswriter i'm glad you like it!
thank you for the follow as well :)

What a stylish and beautiful work! Well done, Gabee! 😃

thank you for your comment @trincowski !

What a beautiful drawing, excellent. Such a simple description of the process adds a lot of value, although in future drawings we would like if you share more pictures of it.


Your post has been upvoted by CELF. A curation project for art, literature, and music, and it will be nominated to receive larger upvotes. We invite you to our discord server: https://discord.gg/fC5jcDF

You can support us by following our curation trail, following our fan base or by delegating us Steem power

Remember to leave at least 50 Steem Power on your account.

25 SP, 50 SP, 100 SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 2000SP, 4000SP.



Nice! thank you very much <3

Is the coloring done manually too?

The artwork was made in iPad Pro with procreate, everything is digital from the ink to the colors :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76