COLOURED PENCIL PORTRAIT OF A FRIEND

in #drawing6 years ago

IMG_20180607_194056_263.jpg

Hello everybody! It is approaching summer break which means dreaded finals! This next week or so is going to be really hectic but it will all be over soon!

Today I would like to share a portrait I did of my friend. I was in class and we had free time and wanted to draw something but could not come up with any inspiration to draw anything. So I drew my friend.

20180610_081919.jpg

20180616_130337.png

Now the likeness between this picture and the drawing stops at about the pose. I had some trouble getting the face proportions such as the nose right. And the angle which I drew her face is different from the picture, so it does not quite resemble her.

20180610_082019.jpg

I think as a piece it turned out really well but I still need to work on getting the features to look like the reference.

The materials I used are my prismacolor colouring pencils and a thick cardstock like paper.

20180610_202902.jpg

I started off by drawing out all the parts of the face, the eyes, the nose and the torso. And then I start, with a light purple pencil, to colour in the skin, being aware of all the lighter and darker parts of the face. I also add a little bit of pink in the lighter parts of her face.

20180610_202920.jpg

Next I add a warm yellow to the highlighted parts of her face.

20180610_202934.jpg

Then I sketch out the general shape of the hair and start filling it in with long strokes.

20180610_202958.jpg

Next I go in with a darker blue to add more dimension to the hair.

20180610_203041.jpg

I decided to just use a solid colour for the shirt to make it simpler.

20180610_081919.jpg

And finally I finish off by shading the shirt and adding the details to the eyes, lips and eye brows.

I wanted to use a purple colour instead of matching her skin colour because I wanted to focus on really getting the basics like being able to replicate the reference or getting the shading and highlights in the right places, without having to worry about blending a bunch of different colours together to achieve the right colour, which I find is especially hard to do with colouring pencils.

I still have a long way to go but I hope you like it!

* * *

On another note...@mashiliyanage, @chamudiliyanage and I are working on a little project.

I present to you our tag! #tos, standing for
"Teens On Steem"
I will be tagging my posts under this from now on and if you are a teen so can you!
Using this tag we can start to unite and find other teens here on this platform and grow our knowledge.

So if you could resteem this post and get it out to any teens here on steemit that you know that would be very much appreciated.
And if you are a whale or a dolphin or just want to give us a hand in creating our community please contact any one of us, we are quite small and new to this platform and will accept any help we can get.

Thank you so much for your time.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by openparadigm from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

That is pretty good. Why not draw a portrait of yourself?

Thanks! And I'm not quite sure, it always ends up being my friend, maybe because it is easier, I'm not sure really.

Hello @justaboutart, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81