Who Is She?

in #drawing5 years ago

About three years ago I purchased a coloring book from local artist, Jamee Varda. The theme of the book is warrior women and it has felt particularly apt to work through it recently.

I appreciate this book today as my imagination had really taken a turn for the negative in a way that I realize is bad for me and my family. I finished a drawing that I'll share below and have been trying to turn things around by thinking about her.

I'd also love to know what you imagine her story to be. Let me know on the comments or send me an email. I'd love to share your stories in a post in the next few weeks!




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://rachelahanson.blog/2018/10/12/who-is-she/

Sort:  

She is a woman with arrows and no bow. It is fall and she needs to hunt. The bow was given to her from her father. It took a lot of strength to bend that bow and highly valued in the village. Someone stole that bow to seek his fame and fortune. She knows who has been coveting that bow and is on the trail of him that stole the family heirloom and weapon. She is using her multistage form of a telescope. It brings her focus to that bow. She knows that one that stole this bow wouldn't be able to bend that bow to string it. That is why she brought the arrows with her. She belongs to the tribe of the eye. You see the mark of the eye on her quiver. It is her father's quiver and her father made by hand each of those arrows. Another reason she is resolved to get her father's bow back as she was to give that bow to her not yet born child. Her father passed on his strength to that woman who can bend that bow for to string it and she is certain that her father strength will be passed on to her not yet born child. She is riding the family bear that she help raise as a cub. Her husband went to war with the family horse and is expected to come back in the spring. Her father taught her also the use of the sling. If she has to she will sling a stone of her many smooth stones that she picked from her near by river. Yes, her father also taught her the use of the sling, but it is the bow that she prefers. Will she get back that special bow of her father's? By her resolve I would say, Yes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73