Step by step Tutorial of my latest drawing...... Golden Eagle

in #drawing5 years ago


I'm feeling like I got the spark back and I have been drawing more lately.
Maybe it's because I have a vision whit what I whant to accomplish and
what I would like to do. Or it's just the fact that Cryptos is starting to
become bullish again. Either way, drawing is like meditation for me,
I get relaxed and it allows me to think better.

Below you can see the process of my latest drawing I finished yesterday.
Let me know what you think about it in the comments below.


_20190207_162913.JPG

gSxK0Nh.jpg

I start with drawing a rough sketch gently using a 2H graphite pen. The most important is the eyes and the front of the head. Everything else I can adjust easily later. When the proportions of the eyes and beak are good I start drawing the details. The more time you spend the better details you get. I'm still practicing even if I have drawn since childhood. I also cover the background with a black marker pen. before I used to use graphite but it is eating pens and It reflects less with ink when taking photos.

_20190206_141607.JPG

IMG_20190206_202509_417.jpg


Next step in the process is to start shading and drawing some structure of the feathers. I do this by drawing V patterns roughly how I see it in the reference photo. Every bird looks different so it doesn't matter if it's exactly in the right place.
I alter between 2B and 4B graphite pens and I am also using my eraser alot to get the feather like shading. I sometimes draw with the eraser on a dark shadow.

_20190206_221811.JPG


When everything is covered and about the right contrast i start go over the details. I use a white ballpiont pen to make highlights on every feather. this makes the drawing more like a photo even if you zoom in. I don't say I'm perfect, I have a long way to go for hyper realism. But I'll get there :)
I try to compare the reference photo with my drawing from a distance to get a better view of what should be changed. You could also look at the drawing through a mirror to easily see mistakes.

_20190207_113024.JPG

_20190207_144056.JPG

gSxK0Nh.jpg

Below you can se the finished drawing and what pens I used

_20190207_162913.JPG

_20190207_145600.JPG

If you like this post, don't forget to upvote resteem and follow me for more amazing artwork


Check out my instagram
Instagram

Sort:  

It doesn't matter at which stage of life we start with something but we will never get perfect. There is always something to improve. So I understand when you say that you're still practicing even though you started early in your childhood..

I like that you draw with the eraser. I'm so bad with it and always erase what I actually didn't want to :) Your eagle does almost look like a photograph. You included great detail and the eye is spot on. I like the light reflection that you included there.

Well done! Have a great weekend!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by realitycartoon from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi realitycartoon,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Nice details, man! Especially the eyes :D

Thank you :) yeah the eyes came out great

Congratulations @realitycartoon! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! Your post was selected by the @dropahead Curation Team (dCT)

Your skill is magnificent and you even shared the step by step process of your artwork. For me, it is like seeing how something magic happens :)

Thanks for sharing your talent with us, best regards.


@dropahead - Supporting your STEEM adventure

Quality review by the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 92%.

Congratulations for your excellent work!

(1) @dropahead's quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Order and coherence
- Style and uniqueness (Personal touch, logic, complexity, what makes it interesting and easy to understand for the reader)
- Images source and their usage license

Thanks for the tip on how to compare art and photo to lead to perfection... And I must say you did a great job with your art...

Posted using Partiko Android

Great drawing. It does have some photo-like resemblance, but it has its artistic personality.
I know how tedious drawing feathers can be. You did just enough to convey the texture and volume.
This eagle has a sort of picaresque smile, like saying, look at what i'm about to do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62