A sketchy bouquet

in #drawing6 years ago (edited)


I went into this drawing with the idea of making it into a portrait but it turned into a fun bouquet sketch. Lately, my art has been filled with foliage and interesting creature ideas. I must’ve been influenced by the green cards in my magic deck. If you’re familiar with the game then you’ll know how awesome the art is. The dryads super cool and saproling tokens are playful yet extremely beautifully drawn.

I debated about ending this drawing with the first layer. I could either spend more time working on it or I could begin again and collect a series of images. 

Then I was reminded that I had said earlier that I would try doing a drawing with all pencil tools, including the shading. So my choice was made and I began to go in with deeper, gradually building more contrast with each new layer.

The image still seemed flat. At this point I was only using the hemp brush tool. It’s still my go to brush on the Procreate App for iPad Pro. The overall composition turned out really good and I almost started to color the image with my usual selection of brush tools.

Instead I went for a sketchy colored pencil appearance. Incorporating more colors but still keeping the overall look soft. I wanted each flower to stand out.

I threw in a quick textured background.

At the last moment I went in to darken the eyes so they’d pop and that completes this drawing! I hope you enjoyed seeing all the progress shots! 


Thanks for stopping by to view tonight’s drawing! 🦊

Sort:  

A beautiful drawing! This bouquet would be also nice as vector graphic I guess. Greetings.

Thanks @kaffeebart81! I don’t know how my make vectors but I think they look really cool. I’m thinking of embroidering this design. :)

excellent work

The digital art you're doing looks great! You have many virtues that is fantastic, from sewing and being a model to drawing and doing digital, great work:D

Thanks @gvand! I see you working on your art too and you’re also doing great! :)

It looks great! I once read how artists put more emphasis on a certain part of their drawing which makes the whole thing look complete. In this cases it's obvious that it's the eye :)

Thanks!
Yep! I’ve thought about using that same technique with different mediums. Having that contrast with textures. I’ve been itching to make something with my hands.

When I looked at the first image I really thought it was paper and pencil. Texture seems quite believable. Only then with next images I realized it was digital after all. Looks amazing! <3

Thank you! 😊 I love how fool proof tablets are. Sometimes I have the urge to use an actual pencil but digital tools are so convenient! I can already imagine how cluttered my work space would be.

This would look gorgeous as embroidery!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69